May’s Hottest New Releases

best books out in may 2017

With summer just around the corner, there’s a lot of excitement in the air this month. Whether you’re looking forward to jetting off on holiday, hearing your favourite author speak during festival season or just seeing some sun for once, the long days are stretching out ahead of us. Good thing we’ve got a whole stack of wonderful new books to kick back with!

It really is a bumper month for new releases, with guaranteed bestsellers from Lee Child, MJ Arlidge and The Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins heading our way – as well as some of this year’s most thrilling debuts.

Which books take your fancy?

The best books out in May:

best books out in May
best books out in may
best books out in May

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins – 2 May
From the bestselling author of the phenomenal The Girl on the Train comes Into the Water – an addictive novel of psychological suspense about the slipperiness of the truth and a family drowning in secrets. We’ve been waiting for this hugely anticipated second novel to hit the shelves for some time, but at long last it’s finally here. We can’t wait for you to read it. Dive into an audio extract here.

No Middle Name by Lee Child – 18 May
There’s no better feeling than when you finally hold a new Jack Reacher book in your hands. This is the first time all Lee Child’s shorter fiction featuring our favourite ex-military cop has been collected into one volume, shedding new light on Reacher’s past, illuminating how he grew up and developed into the wandering avenger who has captured the imagination of millions around the world. Don’t miss it.

Love Me Not by MJ Arlidge – 18 May
DI Helen Grace is back this month in the latest instalment of M J Arlidge’s thrilling series. Love Me Not sees Helen trying to solve a deadly puzzle and catch a coldblooded killer before more blood is shed. Told at break-neck speed, through Arlidge’s trademark short chapters, this is an action-packed rollercoaster of a novel that you won’t be able to put down.

best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May

You Don’t Know Me by Imran Mahmood – 4 May
You Don’t Know Me, the first book by a criminal defence barrister with over twenty years’ experience, tells a powerful, gripping story in a stunning, authentic voice. Before the Closing Speeches, a young defendant on trial for murder sacks his lawyer and gives his own defence. As we listen to his story, we must decide: guilty or not guilty? This is one of our debuts to look out for this year as we think it’s going to big.

The One by John Marrs – 4 May
A quick DNA test is all it takes to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others. This is a truly unique psychological thriller that we promise you won’t be able to put down as the twists just keep coming. Find out more about the book’s premise from John Marrs himself.

The Shadow District by Arnaldur Indridason – 18 May
Indridason has to be one of our very favourite Scandi crime authors, so we’re beyond excited for the first book in his brand new series. When a 90-year-old is found smothered in his bed, retired Reykjavik detective Konrad tries to uncover the connection with a murder that took place during the second world war. Expertly plotted, this mystery will grip you from start to finish.

best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt – 2 May
See What I Have Done is a particularly chilling debut that reimagines one of the most notorious unsolved real mysteries – the Lizzie Borden axe murders. It’s an incredibly well-crafted, atmospheric novel with believable characters and a fascinating, macabre backstory. We promise it’s one you’ll want to savour.

What Alice Knew by T A Cotterell – 4 May
T A Cotterell’s addictive debut is perfect for fans of tense, thought-provoking novels like Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret and Clare Mackintosh’s I Let You Go. The premise is intriguing and relatable, making you question what you would do in the same situation. We couldn’t put it down. Read the first chapter here.

Need You Dead by Peter James – 18 May
Detective Superintendent Roy Grace faces his most mysterious case yet in Need You Dead. Once again, Peter James doesn’t disappoint – the plot is tight, the writing is pacy and the procedural detail has clearly been researched meticulously, making for a truly authentic, compelling read. You won’t want it to end!

best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May

Crimson Lake by Candice Fox – 4 May
Lee Child, Harlan Coben and James Patterson have all raved about Candice Fox – and you’ll soon see why. This edgy suspense novel is an atmospheric and disturbing drama packed with twists and turns that really pack a punch. It’s a complex and beautifully written thriller that will immerse you in the sweltering heat of small-town Australia.

The Search by Howard Linskey – 4 May
Here at Dead Good, we’re big Howard Linskey fans – so if you’re yet to discover his books, we can’t recommend them enough! The Search sees DS Ian Bradshaw working with investigative journalists Tom Carney and Helen Norton to track down Susan Verity, a little girl who went missing during the heatwave of 1976 and was never found.

The Follower by Koethi Zan – 18 May
The power of obsessive love infuses this fast-paced psychological thriller with a story straight from the headlines. Perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Paula Hawkins and Sharon Bolton, it’s a hugely creepy read about the wife of a kidnapper and her relationship with her husband’s last victim. Find out more about the book from Koethi Zan herself.

best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May

The Day She Disappeared by Christobel Kent – 18 May
This is the brand new psychological suspense novel from the author of Richard and Judy book club pick The Loving Husband, and we’re expecting great things. When Nat’s best friend Beth disappears, Nat knows something is wrong – but no one believes Beth was taken. What follows promises to be a gripping, unputdownable story that will make you question your own friendships.

The Fact of a Body by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich – 18 May
The Fact of a Body is a groundbreaking investigation into the case of death-row convicted murderer and child molester Ricky Langley. Fans of Making A Murderer and Serial won’t want to miss this enthralling true crime read, which looks at how the law is personal, composed of individual stories, and how arriving at the truth is more complicated – and powerful – than we could ever imagine.

The Liar by Steve Cavanagh – 18 May
Combining gripping action and ingenious plotting, The Liar is the brilliant new legal thriller from the author of The Defence and The Plea. Perfect for fans of John Grisham and Michael Connelly, Steve’s new book sees former con artist turned attorney Eddie Flynn stepping back into his old life, only to realise that the rules of game have changed.

The pick of the paperbacks:

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May
best books out in May

Have we missed any of May’s hottest new releases? Let us know in the comments below!

mm

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment

  1. Sandra Davies says

    Mike Craven’s ‘Body Breaker’ due out on the 25th.