Liza Marklund wins Petrona Award 2013

The winner of the inaugural Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Fiction Novel of the Year was announced at CrimeFest in Bristol.

The award went to LAST WILL by Liza Marklund (translated by Neil Smith). Set up to honour the memory of Maxine Clarke, the well-known and much-loved blogger and reviewer who was an expert on and champion of Scandinavian crime fiction, the shortlist for the 2013 award was:


  • PIERCED by Thomas Enger, tr. Charlotte Barslund (Faber and Faber)
  • BLACK SKIES by Arnaldur Indridason, tr. Victoria Cribb (Harvill Secker)
  • LAST WILL by Liza Marklund, tr. Neil Smith (Corgi)
  • ANOTHER TIME, ANOTHER LIFE by Leif GW Persson tr. Paul Norlen (Doubleday)

Barry Forshaw presented the award, which was collected by Liza’s editor Emma Buckley. The prize include a pass to CrimeFest 2014 and a guaranteed panel at next year’s event.

Barry Forshaw and Liza’s UK editor Emma Buckley

Read the Book:

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.