Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The CWA poll winners 2013

Celebrating their 60th Anniversary the Crime Writer’s Association polled their members to find the best ever crime novel and author as well as the best ever crime series.

Classic crime and golden era detectives stole a march on their modern colleagues with old time favourites topping all three lists.


The 2013 shortlists

CWA Best Ever Novel

The Big Sleep (1939) by Raymond Chandler
Gorky Park (1981) by Martin Cruz Smith
The Hound of the Baskervilles (1902) by Arthur Conan Doyle
The Long Goodbye (1953) by Raymond Chandler
The Moonstone (1868) by Wilkie Collins
Murder on the Orient Express (1934) by Agatha Christie
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (1926) by Agatha Christie – WINNER
The Nine Tailors (1934) by Dorothy L Sayers
On Beulah Height (1998) by Reginald Hill
The Silence of the Lambs (1988) by Thomas Harris

CWA Best Ever Crime Author

Raymond Chandler
Agatha Christie – WINNER
Arthur Conan Doyle
Dashiell Hammett
Reginald Hill
PD James
Elmore Leonard
Ruth Rendell
Dorothy L Sayers
Georges Simenon

CWA Best Ever Crime Series

Albert Campion – Margery Allingham
Adam Dalgliesh – PD James
Dalziel & Pascoe – Reginald Hill
Sherlock Holmes – Arthur Conan Doyle – WINNER
Philip Marlowe – Raymond Chandler
Inspector Morse – Colin Dexter
Hercule Poirot – Agatha Christie
John Rebus – Ian Rankin
Lord Peter Wimsey – Dorothy L Sayers

These lists represent the very best in crime fiction and were voted on by readers.

Stay tuned for future information about the Dead Good Book Club where we will be creating a reading challenge to read the shortlisted novels!

1 Comment

    What, no Martin Beck or Kurt Wallander in the Best Ever Crime Series?

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.