Captain Sam Wyndham books in order

abir mukherjee's sam wyndham books in order

Abir Mukherjee‘s Captain Sam Wyndham is a former Scotland Yard detective and World War I veteran posted to Calcutta for a fresh start after his experiences during the Great War.

It’s here where Wyndham meets side-kick Surendranath Bannerjee and the unlikely pair investigate a series of serious crimes against the backdrop of a turbulent period of British Indian history.

Winner of the Telegraph Harvill Secker Crime Writing Competition for the first novel in the trio, fans of historical crime fiction will be fascinated and compelled by this unique series and eager for more to come.

Abir Mukherjee’s Sam Wyndham books in order:

Abir Mukherjee's sam wyndham books in orderA Rising Man

India, 1919. Desperate for a fresh start, Captain Sam Wyndham arrives to take up an important post in Calcutta’s police force.

He is soon called to the scene of a horrifying murder. The victim was a senior official, and a note in his mouth warns the British to leave India – or else.

With the stability of the Empire under threat, Wyndham and Sergeant ‘Surrender-not’ Banerjee must solve the case quickly. But there are some who will do anything to stop them…

Abir Mukherjee's sam wyndham books in orderA Necessary Evil

Sam Wyndham is visiting the kingdom of Sambalpore, home to diamond mines and the beautiful Palace of the Sun.

But when the Maharaja’s eldest son is assassinated, Wyndham realises that the realm is riven with conflict. Prince Adhir was unpopular with religious groups, while his brother – now in line to the throne – appears to be a feckless playboy.

As Wyndham and Sergeant ‘Surrender-not’ Banerjee endeavour to unravel the mystery, they become entangled in a dangerous world. They must find the murderer, before the murderer finds them.

Abir Mukherjee's sam wyndham books in orderSmoke and Ashes

Haunted by his memories of the Great War, Captain Sam Wyndham is battling a serious addiction to opium that he must keep secret from his superiors in the Calcutta police force.

When Sam is summoned to investigate a grisly murder, he is stunned at the sight of the body: he’s seen this before. Last night, in a drug addled haze, he stumbled across a corpse with the same ritualistic injuries. It seems like there’s a deranged killer on the loose. Unfortunately for Sam, the corpse was in an opium den and revealing his presence there could cost him his career.

With the aid of his quick-witted Indian Sergeant, Surrender-not Banerjee, Sam must try to solve the two murders, all the while keeping his personal demons secret, before somebody else turns up dead.

There you have it – Abir Mukherjee’s Sam Wyndham books in order. How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.