The best books out in April

As we head into April and continue to spend more of our time at home, a list of gripping new thrillers to escape with is just what we need.

One small upside to being stuck inside is that we can spend more of the day working through – and adding to – our reading pile. Whether you’re a domestic suspense super-fan or someone who always reaches for the next action-packed police procedural for your monthly dose of thrills, we guarantee these new releases will help you while away the hours during this uncertain time.

Here’s our pick of the best books out in April.

The best books out in April 2020:

Three Perfect Liars by Heidi Perks
out 30 April
When a body is pulled out of an office fire, three women are first in line for questioning – all three with reasons for wanting revenge against the company’s CEO. Now You See Her and Come Back For Me author Heidi Perks returns with her third addictive psychological suspense novel perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, Lisa Jewell and Fiona Barton. We promise you’ll race through it. Read a chapter here.

He Started It by Samantha Downing
out 30 April
Samantha Downing’s debut, My Lovely Wife gripped us from start to finish, so we can’t wait for her second book to hit shelves later this month. It’s a twisty, surprising, claustrophobic slow burner of a novel that will keep you guessing right up to its shocking ending. We can’t recommend it enough.

The Wrong Move by Jennifer Savin
out 23 April
The Wrong Move is a twisty domestic thriller following Jessie, who thinks she’s found the perfect new flatshare – but when she learns that the previous flatmate disappeared in suspicious circumstances, she starts to doubt if she can trust these strangers after all. If you love mysteries that hit close to home like I Invited Her In and Our House then this will prove a must-read. Read a chapter here.

Strangers by C L Taylor
out 2 April
When three strangers’ lives unexpectedly collide, there’s only one thing for it: they have to stick together – or else one of them will die. With a tension that builds and builds, Strangers is a psychological thriller that really keeps you on the edge of your seat and gets you turning those pages, racing to find out what happens.

The Mist by Ragnar Jonasson
out 30 April
Ragnar’s clever Hidden Iceland trilogy draws to a close this month with the release of this haunting, atmospheric new novel. Perfect for fans of Peter May, Ann Cleeves and Agatha Christie, The Mist takes us back to the beginning of heroine Detective Hulda Hermannsdóttir‘s story, drawing the beautifully crafted mystery to its brilliant and wonderfully satisfying conclusion.

Seven Lies by Elizabeth Kay
out 16 April
Unpicking the lies and secrets festering below the surface of a seemingly perfect relationship between two inseparable best friends, Seven Lies is a sinister, complex and well-plotted novel with brilliant characterisation and unrelenting tension from an author who’s guaranteed to be one to watch. Prepare to be intrigued!

The Black Art of Killing by Matthew Hall
out 2 April
If you love Frank Gardner and James Swallow, this action-packed thriller from Keeping Faith screenwriter Matthew Hall is for you. The book introduces Dr Leo Black, a lecturer at Oxford University who served in the SAS for twenty years but soon finds himself being drawn back into the world he’s put behind him. Expect both brains and brawn in this absorbing roller coaster thriller.

Little Disasters by Sarah Vaughan
out 2 April
We’ve been excited to get our hands on the next Sarah Vaughan novel since we turned the final page of Anatomy of A Scandal, and Little Disasters certainly doesn’t disappoint. It’s a well written, thought-provoking family drama about motherhood, guilt closely guarded secrets and how well you know those closest to you – and yourself.

All In Her Head by Nikki Smith
out 2 April
Alison feels like she’s losing her mind. She thinks she’s being followed and knows she has a good reason to be afraid, but she just can’t remember why. All In Her Head is a psychological thriller with a difference. It’s a surprising, clever tale of misdirection that will take you on a moving and emotional journey you won’t see coming.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out in April 2020? Let us know in the comments below!

Join our weekly newsletterSIGN UP

Get weekly eBook deals in our newsletter SIGN UP

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.