Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out in August

August has arrived – and what a collection of thrillers it has brought with it! With temperatures rising and sunshine sweeping across the country, we’ll happily take a holiday right here on our doorstep – just as long as we’ve got a good crime novel in our hands.

Our pick of the best books out in August includes exciting new releases from the likes of Lisa Jewell, Anthony Horowitz and Denise Mina, just to name a few. So make sure you carve out some time to escape with some of these cracking books, as each one is every bit as page-turning as the next.

The best books out in August 2020:

Invisible Girl by Lisa Jewell
out 6 August
Lisa Jewell fans, get excited. Invisible Girl is everything we hoped it would be and more: a perfectly plotted, expertly paced read-in-one-sitting kind of book that will hook you in from the very first chapters and refuse to let go. We think you’ll love it. Read the first chapter here.

Moonflower Murders by Anthony Horowitz
out 20 August
Featuring his famous literary detective Atticus Pund and former publisher Susan Ryeland, hero of Magpie Murders, this is a wonderful mystery that’s as engaging and and compelling as it is cunning and complex. It won’t fail to delight. Read the first chapter here.

Eight Detectives by Alex Pavesi
out 20 August
Former bookseller Alex Pavesi’s ingenious debut is a refreshing and original novel that fans of the crime fiction genre will adore. Eight Detectives picks apart the traditional murder mystery through a dazzlingly clever battle of wits, resulting in a hugely entertaining, irresistible read.

Final Cut by S J Watson
out 6 August
When film-maker Alex arrives in Blackwood Bay to shoot her new documentary, she finds the seaside town will do anything to protect the secrets of a lifetime. Transporting us to an intensely claustrophobic small-town community, this is a story packed with layers of psychological intrigue.

The Less Dead by Denise Mina
out 20 August
Inspired by a series of real murder cases that took place in Glasgow in the 1990s, Denise Mina’s topical and poignant new thriller follows Margo as she tries to find her birth mother’s killer. It’s dark, gritty and atmospheric, spinning reality into fiction to brilliant effect once again.

Still Life by Val McDermid
out 20 August
Val McDermid is back with the sixth gripping DCI Karen Pirie novel this month. Beautifully crafted, with first class characterisation, this series is as compelling as they come and keeps us turning the pages time and time again. Don’t miss it.

We Are All the Same in the Dark by Julia Heaberlin

The Killings at Kingfisher Hill by Sophie Hannah

Knife Edge by Simon Mayo
out 20 August
Perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz, John Grisham and Peter James, Simon Mayo’s contemporary thriller comes ripped from the headlines, delivering a killer opening, pacy, clever plotting and characters that readers will love. We can’t recommend it enough.

We Are All the Same in the Dark by Julia Heaberlin
out 6 August
The bestselling author of Black-Eyed Susans returns with an atmospheric, slow-burning Texan thriller that sees young cop Odette Tucker try to unearth the truth about a town’s most notorious cold case. It’s chilling, suspenseful and twisted, and a first class psychological thriller.

The Killings at Kingfisher Hill by Sophie Hannah
out 20 August
Hercule Poirot is back in Sophie Hannah’s latest continuation novel, where she marries Golden Age tropes with contemporary plotting and clever twists. It’s a fun and thoroughly enjoyable novel and the perfect way to escape the real world this summer.

A Good Marriage by Kimberly McCreight

Just Like the Other Girls by Claire Douglas

The Search Party by Simon Lelic
out 20 August
Five friends go into the woods to find a missing girl – but one will not return. This is a sinister, pulse-pounding thriller about a group of friends, the secrets they harbour, and the lengths they will go to protect them. Prepare to find yourself on the edge of your seat.

A Good Marriage by Kimberly McCreight
out 6 August
A Good Marriage, soon to be an Amazon Prime series produced by Nicole Kidman, is gripping domestic thriller perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Shari Lapena. Penned by a former lawyer, it combines legal expertise with emotional drama to produce a twisty, authentic, page-turning read.

Just Like the Other Girls by Claire Douglas
out 6 August
Una’s new life as a live-in companion is nothing she hoped for and everything she feared after discovering the mysterious deaths of the two girls who came before her. This tale of jealousy, lies and betrayal is absorbing, thrilling and guaranteed to keep the heart racing.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

The Other People by C J Tudor

Who Did You Tell? by Lesley Kara

Have we missed any of the best books out in August 2020? Which books are you excited to read? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.