Get weekly eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

Get weekly eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out in February

For a moment there it felt like January might never end – but thankfully it’s time to welcome in the second month of the year with open arms and celebrate the fact that spring is just around the corner. Until then, we’ve rounded up some of our favourite new releases to cosy up with while there’s still a chill in the air. 

The next few weeks promise some exciting new debuts, as well as thrilling returns from Denise Mina, Elly Griffiths and Gregg Hurwitz. So make the most of the Valentine’s Day chocolate littering the shops and schedule yourself a night in with a gripping new book.

Here’s our pick of the best books out in February.

The best books out in February 2020:

The Memory Wood by Sam Lloyd
out 20 February
It’s remarkably easy to lose yourself in the pages of The Memory Wood – an absorbing new book that will hook you in right from the beginning and refuse to let go. This cat-and-mouse story about a young girl who must use her intellect to outwit and outmaneuver her captor is chilling, eerie and atmospheric, and both thrilling and moving in equal measure. Read an extract here.

The Better Liar by Tanen Jones
out 6 February
When a woman conceals her sister’s death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller that’s impossible to put down. Full of tension and intrigue, with twists and turns at every corner, this absorbing, perfectly crafted debut makes you question who to trust throughout. Read an extract here.

Watching From the Dark by Gytha Lodge
out 6 February
DCI Jonah Sheens is back for his second outing in Watching From the Dark. When a young woman is murdered while on a video chat, Jonah finds himself wading into a circle of friends and lovers with dangerous secrets. With great plotting and compelling characters, this is a top drawer police procedural.

The House on the Lake by Nuala Ellwood
out 6 February
Perfect for fans of Claire Douglas and Rosamund Lupton, The House on the Lake is a page-turning psychological suspense novel about a young woman who seeks refuge in a dilapidated house in the wilds of Yorkshire – only to uncover a deadly secret. Fast-paced and chilling, this is one book that will grip you from start to finish.

The Lantern Men by Elly Griffiths
out 6 February
When a convicted murderer tells Dr Ruth Galloway and DCI Harry Nelson about four bodies buried near a village bordering the fens, his motive is unclear. A new Ruth Galloway book is always something to celebrate here at Dead Good, and The Lantern Men doesn’t disappoint. It’s clever and tense, with delightful protagonists who keep us coming back again and again.

Into the Fire by Gregg Hurwitz
out 20 February
On the run and stalked by death, Max Merriweather meets the one man who might be able to save him: former secret government assassin Evan Smoak. Packed with edge-of-your-seat suspense, explosive action and razor-sharp plotting, Into the Fire is an adrenaline-fulled must-read for fans of David Baldacci, James Patterson and Harlan Coben.

Little Friends by Jane Shemilt
out 20 February
Little Friends explores what can happen when you look the other way for what seems like just a moment – how evil can creep into a safe little world and how easy it is for every parent’s biggest nightmare to come true. If you love Fiona Neill, Sarah Vaughan and Liane Moriarty, this is the book for you.

The Guest List by Lucy Foley
out 20 February
A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this suspenseful, atmospheric thriller from the author of The Hunting Party. With a premise reminiscent of Agatha Christie and brilliant characterisation, this engrossing whodunnit is guaranteed to keep you guessing right to the very end.

When You See Me by Lisa Gardner
out 20 February
Lisa Gardner unites three of her most loved characters – Detective D D Warren, Flora Dane, and FBI Special Agent Kimberly Quincy – in a twisty new thriller that sees past and present intertwine when they investigate a mysterious murder that points to a dangerous and chilling new crime. It’s a tense, edge-of-your-seat page turner that we can’t recommend enough.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out in February 2020? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!

Join our weekly newsletterSIGN UP

Get weekly eBook deals in our newsletter SIGN UP

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.