The best books out in January

best books out in january 2020

The start of a new decade can be a great time to plan ahead and make some resolutions for the next few years. But before we get ahead of ourselves, we have to get through January. With its freezing temperatures and lack of festive fun, the first month of the year can often feel rather gloomy.

To ease the way into the new year, we’ve rounded up some exciting releases to help while away those dark winter evenings. With the latest books from C J Tudor, Cara Hunter and Lesley Kara hitting shelves along with a bunch of thrilling debuts, we’re confident the next few weeks will pass by in no time at all.

The best books out in January 2020:

best books out in January 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020

The Other People by C J Tudor
23 January
If you like your crime fiction dark, creepy and atmospheric, then this new book from the author of The Chalk Man and The Taking of Annie Thorne won’t disappoint. Three years after Gabe’s daughter was taken from him right before his very eyes, he’s still trying to find her – but the people responsible will do anything they can to stop them being found. Get ready for an absorbing thrill-ride of a novel.

All the Rage by Cara Hunter
23 January
When girls start being taken from the streets of Oxford, it looks like DI Adam Fawley has a serial abductor on his hands. This latest instalment in Cara Hunter’s bestselling crime series will hook you in right from the start and refuse to let go – and once you’ve finished it, you’ll immediately want to get your hands on the next one.

Who Did You Tell? by Lesley Kara
9 January
Prepare to feel paranoid with this addictive new psychological thriller from the author of The Rumour. Moving and gripping, this is a very human, twisty, thought-provoking thriller starring a spiky but compelling lead character you’ll really root for. We promise you’ll race through it, desperate to find out what happens.

best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020

A Silent Death by Peter May
9 January
Peter May’s latest thriller unites a strong, independent Spaniard with a socially inept Scotsman, a senseless vendetta with a sense-deprived victim and a red-hot Costa Del Sol with an ice-cold killer. It’s hugely atmospheric, with vivid descriptions and fantastic characterisation that really immerse you in the story.

Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton
9 January
In rural Somerset in the middle of a blizzard, the unthinkable happens: a school is under siege. For the people inside, these hours are the most intense of their lives, where evil and terror are met by courage, love and redemption. Tense, chilling and full of darkness and light, this is one book you won’t forget in a hurry.

Long Bright River by Liz Moore
9 January
From the author of Heft comes a gritty and moving crime thriller for those who love The Wire and Line of Duty. The story follows two sisters – one a cop, one who’s ended up on the streets – in Philadelphia where there’s a serial killer targeting young women. It’s a gritty slow burner about family ties and addiction that oozes with authenticity.

best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020

Happy Ever After by C C Macdonald
23 January
Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty, Harriet Tyce and Louise Candlish, this brilliantly written debut is as suspenseful as they come. With an opening that feels terrifyingly close to home and an ending that will get under your skin, this is a real page turner that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page. Read an extract here.

Haven’t They Grown by Sophie Hannah
23 January
For those looking to set their little grey cells to work this month, we’d suggest trying Sophie Hannah’s excellent new standalone. It’s a clever, perplexing and thoroughly entertaining mystery full of twists and turns that will leave you scratching your head as you try to figure out the solution.

Truth Hurts by Rebecca Reid
23 January
Can we ever truly leave the past behind us? That’s the question asked by this addictive psychological suspense novel about secrets and lies. Truth Hurts is relatable, intriguing and unbelievably tense – domestic noir at its finest. Fans of Adele Parks, Claire Douglas and Jane Corry will love it and we can’t recommend it enough.

best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020

Alice Teale is Missing by Howard Linskey
23 January
Seventeen-year-old Alice Teale walked out of school at the end of a bright spring day. She’s not been seen since. This twisty, addictive missing persons thriller from the author of The Chosen Ones and The Search has a strong sense of place, a gripping, pacy plot and a great detective duo we really hope to see again.

The Driftwood Girls by Mark Douglas-Home
9 January
Two women go missing two decades apart – and there’s only one man with the skills to find them after all this time. The sea detective Cal McGill is back this month in another hugely atmospheric, suspenseful Scottish mystery. These unique thrillers have no problem standing out from the crowd; we love them and think you will too!

Blindside by James Patterson
23 January
When the daughter of the mayor of New York goes missing, there’s only one cop who can bring her home – public enemy number one, Detective Michael Bennett. Packed with action, suspense and excitement, this brilliantly crafted thriller is a real treat for anyone yet to discover this gripping series.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020
best books out in january 2020

Have we missed any of the best books out in January 2020? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

5 Comments

  1. Shelley says

    Wow not sure if you missed any but this is a fantastic list to get through

  2. Jocelynne Hannam says

    List of books sounds really exciting, and the choice of genre is vast.

  3. Cathy Duncan says

    Some of these authors are new to me, so I don’t know if you have missed any, but I look forward to reading some of the books on the list