Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out in July

Whether summer this year means a staycation at home or a short road trip to the rolling green countryside, we guarantee July’s releases will keep you thoroughly entertained wherever you are – not least because some of our favourite crime authors have brand new books hitting shelves in the next few weeks!

The author of The Couple Next Door returns with another twisty domestic thriller, while the author of Richard and Judy book club pick The Whisper Man brings out a spine-tingling psychological suspense novel you’ll definitely want to read with the lights turned on. And with new paperbacks from the likes of Gregg Hurwitz, Tess Gerritsen and Lisa Gardner on the way too, we’re spoiled for choice this month.

Here’s our pick of the best books out in July, perfect for the warm summer nights.

The best books out in July 2020:

The End of Her by Shari Lapena
out 23 July
With whistle-stop pace and corkscrew turns, the queen of the one-sit read shows the complexity of married life put under unimaginable strain in her brand new book. We can’t get enough of Shari’s absorbing thrillers, and The End of Her is truly as gripping as they come. We think you’ll love it.

The Shadow Friend by Alex North
out 9 July
From the author of Richard and Judy smash-hit The Whisper Man comes another wonderfully creepy, dark psychological suspense novel. It’s a real page turner, with thrills and chills a’plenty and an emotional depth that pulls you in and sends a shiver down your spine.

Find Them Dead by Peter James
out 9 July
Detective Superintendent Roy Grace unearths a powerful criminal network in Peter James’ new crime novel which hits shelves this month. Part police procedural, part courtroom drama, Find Them Dead stands out for its great storytelling, interesting characters and plot that keeps you guessing.

How to Disappear by Gillian McAllister
out 9 July
Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, Clare Mackintosh and Jodi Picoult, How to Disappear is a clever psychological thriller with heart, exploring what it means to go into witness protection and tear your family apart. Gripping, twisty and suspenseful, this is a hugely satisfying read that won’t disappoint.

Dark Waters by G R Halliday
out 16 July
DI Monica Kennedy is on the hunt for a serial killer in the Scottish Highlands in G R Halliday’s spectacular new police procedural. Dark, tense and atmospheric, with shades of Stephen King’s Misery, this is a novel guaranteed to keep you up all night. Read a chapter from the book here.

Cry Baby by Mark Billingham
out 23 July
Set in 1996, Cry Baby, the new prequel to Mark Billingham’s debut, takes us back to where it all began for the iconic Tom Thorne – to a case that would shape the rest of his career. It’s a hugely enjoyable and entertaining read and provides the perfect backstory to one of our best-loved detectives.

Don't Turn Around by Jessica Barry

One White Lie by Leah Konen

Lost Souls by Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman

Don’t Turn Around by Jessica Barry
out 30 July
Look For Me author Jessica Barry’s new book is a fast-paced, high concept chase thriller following two women on the run from their pasts. It’s a surprising read that oozes with mystery and intrigue and drip feeds clues and red herrings page by page. Read a chapter from the book here.

One White Lie by Leah Konen
out 23 July
If one white lie made all your problems disappear, you’d do it, wouldn’t you? Combining outstanding pace, ever-tightening tension and a stunning setting on the edge of the American wilderness, One White Lie is packed with twists you won’t see coming.

Lost Souls by Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman
out 23 July
The bestselling father and son writing duo return with a new thriller that sees Deputy Coroner Clay Edison investigating a seemingly impossible case that will unearth a web of violence, secrets and betrayal. Brilliantly plotted and full of twists and turns, this is one book that’s impossible to put down.

Night Falls, Still Missing by Helen Callaghan
out 23 July
Set on the beautifully atmospheric and isolated island of Orkney, Night Falls, Still Missing is sure to transport you from the comfort of your armchair this summer. Tense and unpredictable, with true character and originality, this is one for fans of Susie Steiner, Ruth Ware and Sabine Durrant.

1st Case by James Patterson
out 9 July
When a young tech genius is offered a dream internship with the FBI, she’s thrown straight into her first brutal murder case. Following a determined female lead as she tracks down an elusive serial killer, this is an intriguing thriller that Karin Slaughter and Robert Bryndza readers will race through.

Finders Keepers by Sabine Durrant
out 9 July
If you liked Lie With Me and Take Me In, you’ll love Sabine Durrant’s latest slow burning psychological thriller about obsession, secrets and manipulation. It’s clever and creepy, with a tension that builds and builds and characters who can’t be trusted. Don’t miss it.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Join our weekly newsletterSIGN UP

Get weekly eBook deals in our newsletter SIGN UP

1 Comment

    Love filling my Waterstones wish list with all these reocmmendations. Keep up the good work

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.