The best books out in May

We’ve welcomed the joy of getting lost in a gripping crime thriller more than ever over the last few weeks. From atmospheric mysteries to fast-paced spy thrillers, brilliantly plotted police procedurals to twisty domestic suspense novels, our pick of the best books out in May will keep you entertained during the next month and beyond.

If you’re anything like us and have turned to rearranging your fully stacked shelves during lockdown, why not treat yourself to one or two more to help fill in the gaps.

The best books out in May 2020:

I Made A Mistake by Jane Corry
out 22nd May in eBook and 28th May in paperback
Jane Corry is back this month with a heart-in-mouth psychological thriller about a woman driven to extremes after one mistake threatens to destroy everything she holds dear. Dark and addictive, with twists and turns a’plenty, this is the perfect way to escape the real world for a good few hours. We think it’s Jane’s best book yet.

Double Agent by Tom Bradby
out 28th May
It was supposed to be a weekend away in Venice, but for senior MI6 officer Kate Henderson a routine family trip is about to be become a personal nightmare as her professional and private lives collide with painful force. Perfect for fans of Bodyguard and Line of Duty, Double Agent is an unmissable, gripping and authentic thriller from ITV News Anchor Tom Bradby. We promise you’ll struggle to put it down.

Camino Winds by John Grisham
out 28th May
Transport yourself to Camino Island this month, where thriller author Nelson Kerr has just received suffered several suspicious blows to the head. His friend and bookshop owner Bruce Cable soon begins to wonder if the shady characters in Nelson’s novels might be more real than fictional.

The Glass House by Eve Chase
out 14th May
Family secrets and lies collide in this haunting and atmospheric new novel from Eve Chase. Switching between past and present, city and country, this is a mystery you’ll want to savour – one that will grip and delight in equal measure and stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.

Fair Warning by Michael Connelly
out 26th May
Jack McEvoy, the journalist who never backs down, faces a criminal mind unlike any he’s ever encountered in Michael Connelly’s latest, which sees him tracking a serial killer who’s been operating completely under the radar. It’s a pacy, original read that’s difficult to put down and as thrilling as they come.

Remain Silent by Susie Steiner
out 28th May
DI Manon Bradshaw investigates when the body of a young man is found hanging from a tree in Cambridgeshire. Was it murder or suicide – or was he driven to end his own life? Brilliantly plotted, with great characterisation and a main character who really shines, this is a stellar addition to the series.

The Winter Agent by Gareth Rubin
out 28th May
Set in occupied France, this dramatic WWII spy thriller tells the story of a man operating in the darkest of circumstances and the sacrifices war demands of those who fight it, based on a shocking historical conspiracy that reached the very top of the British establishment. If you’re a fan of Robert Harris or Rory Clements, this tense, intriguing book from the author of Liberation Square is for you.

Dear Child by Romy Hausmann
out 14th May
Gone Girl meets Room in this page-turning German thriller which sees a woman manage to flee her captor of fourteen years, only to find that her escape raises more questions than it answered. Dear Child is a thought-provoking, edge-of-your-seat novel with well-crafted characters and lots of twists that will keep you guessing to the very end.

Just My Luck by Adele Parks
out 14th May
What if winning the lottery meant losing everything? What seems like a dream come true quickly turns sour in the latest release by Lies Lies Lies author Adele Parks. Unpredictable, with twists you won’t see coming, Just My Luck is a dark, compulsive story about greed and betrayal that won’t disappoint.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out in May 2020? Let us know in the comments below!

Join our weekly newsletterSIGN UP

Get weekly eBook deals in our newsletter SIGN UP

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.