Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out in September

Despite our age, we haven’t forgotten what the start of the new school year feels like. September has always been a time for new beginnings and setting resolutions, and it’s just as well – with the amount of top thrillers hitting the shelves in the next few weeks, we’ll be putting our organisational skills to the test to ensure we don’t miss any off the list!

From Richard Osman’s brilliant debut to a gripping new standalone from Jo Nesbo, we’re welcoming the change of seasons and a chance to curl up with some brilliant crime fiction and an endless supply of tea.

Here’s our pick of the best books out in September.

The best books out in September 2020:

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman
out 3 September
From one of TV’s best-loved presenters and producers comes one of the most exciting, refreshing and fun new crime series that we’ve seen in some time. This is a contemporary crime novel with a classic and quintessentially British twist, penned by a true crime fan – and it doesn’t fail to delight.

The Kingdom by Jo Nesbo
out 17 September
With unexpected twists, hugely compelling characters and an ever growing body count, The Kingdom is a tense and atmospheric standalone thriller about two brothers bound together by dark secrets. It’s an unmissable read from one of our all-time favourite crime authors, and we think you’ll love it.

The Darkest Evening by Ann Cleeves
out 3 September
We’re reunited with our old friend DCI Vera Stanhope this month in Ann Cleeves’ latest mystery set in the North East. It’s perfectly crafted and full to the brim with intrigue, resulting in a hugely absorbing, highly entertaining and wonderfully satisfying crime novel.

V2 by Robert Harris
out 17 September
Fatherland and Munich author Robert Harris returns to WWII for his brilliant, intricately plotted new thriller about a German rocket engineer, a former actress turned British spy, and the V2 missile program. It’s a real powerhouse of a novel from a master storyteller – and we can’t recommend it enough.

The Heatwave by Kate Riordan
out 3 September
Transport yourself to the sunny south of France in this slow-burning psychological suspense novel from Kate Riordan. Following a family as they confront a dark and mysterious secret long thought buried, this dark summer thriller is perfect for fans of Harriet Tyce and Adele Parks.

Private Moscow by James Patterson
out 3 September
Jack Morgan is battling to uncover a conspiracy that leads him all the way to Russia in the heart-stopping new thriller in James Patterson’s bestselling Private series. With a pace that doesn’t let up, and action and thrills on every page, Private Moscow kept us on the edge of our seats.

Keep Her Quiet by Emma Curtis
out 17 September
How far would you go for the life you think you deserve? That’s the question One Little Mistake author Emma Curtis asks in her latest fast-paced, addictive domestic drama. It’s a real page turner that you’ll race through in one sitting, desperate to find out what happens. Find out more about the book here.

One Step Behind by Lauren North
out 3 September
This gripping, emotionally driven psychological suspense novel about a cat-and-mouse game between stalker and victim is as chilling as they come. Full of twists that keep you on your toes and flawed characters you’ll love to hate, One Step Behind is perfect for readers of B A Paris and Clare Mackintosh.

Fifty-Fifty by Steve Cavanagh
out 3 September
Two sisters are on trial for murder, both accusing each other. Who do you believe? Lawyer Eddie Flynn is on the case in Steve Cavanagh’s suspenseful new courtroom thriller that will keep you guessing right up until the very end. A seriously compulsive read.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out in September 2020? Let us know in the comments below!

1 Comment

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.