Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

2021 might not be a leap year, but still we’re leaping into February with a raft of new releases to keep us entertained through this short and sweet month.

Amongst the chills and thrills ahead are a spine-tingling debut by Sarah Pearse, the next instalment in the Orphan X series by Gregg Hurwitz and a slew of paperbacks from the likes of S J Watson, Emily Koch and Helen Callaghan that’ll keep you reading into spring!

So prepare a comfy armchair and get your and bookmarks ready, as these perfect picks won’t disappoint.

The best books out this month:

The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse
out 4 February in eBook and 18 February in hardback
High in the Alps, a luxury hotel opens in what was once a sanatorium – but the new design can’t hide the building’s dark history for long… Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware, this debut thriller effortlessly combines a locked-room mystery with a modern day gothic thriller. Read a chapter here.

The Russian by James Patterson
out 4 February
As Detective Michael Bennett’s wedding day approaches, a killer has a vow of his own to fulfil in the thirteenth thrilling novel by James Patterson featuring the NYPD’s finest detective. Suspenseful, action-packed and thrilling to the final page, The Russian is not to be missed.

Prodigal Son by Gregg Hurwitz
out 4 February
Forced into retirement, former off-the-books assassin Evan Smoak receives an urgent request for help in Prodigal Son – from someone claiming to be his mother. This is a tense, adrenaline-fueled and action-packed thriller that’s impossible to put down. Prepare to find yourself on the edge of your seat.

Lightseekers by Femi Kayode
out 4 February
Transporting us to Nigeria and introducing investigative psychologist Dr Philip Taiwo – a man more interested in understanding the whydunnit than whodunnit – this is an atmospheric, vivid and beautifully written mystery and a brilliant first novel from the 2019 UEA Crime Writing Prize winner.

Serpentine by Jonathan Kellerman
out 4 February
LAPD homicide lieutenant Milo Sturgis must call on the expertise of brilliant psychologist Alex Delaware once again in Jonathan Kellerman’s tense, well-crafted new thriller which sees the pair investigating a decades-old unsolved case. If you’ve never read a Kellerman thriller before, you’re in for a treat.

The Night Hawks by Elly Griffiths
out 4 February
A new Dr Ruth Galloway novel is just what we need right now, and The Night Hawks certainly doesn’t disappoint. With excellent characters, a wonderfully atmospheric North Norfolk setting and a first rate, intriguing plot, this is one you’ll race through.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

1 Comment

    What Will Burn (The Inspector McLean Series) by James Oswald

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.