Don't miss the page-turning new novel by Liane MoriartyShop now

Don't miss the page-turning new novel by Liane Moriarty Shop now

The best books out this month

If you’re crossing your fingers for some late summer sunshine, you’re in luck – because there are so many brilliant new releases this month to keep you entertained while you enjoy the last of the lighter evenings.

Take your pick from big-hitting hardbacks by Richard Osman, Liane Moriarty, and Jo Nesbo – or if it’s a paperback you’re after then look no further than Lisa Gardner, Tony Parsons or Icelandic noir connoisseur Ragnar Jónasson.

From whodunnits to domestic dramas, there’s something for everyone this month. So pick your poison and get ready to be thrilled by one of these crime fiction crackers.

The best books out in September:

The Man Who Died Twice by Richard Osman

The Jealousy Man and Other Stories by Jo Nesbo

The Man Who Died Twice by Richard Osman
out 16 September
If you adored The Thursday Murder Club, you’ll be thrilled to hear the second book in the series hits shelves this month. Featuring our four unlikely investigators as they pursue a brand new mystery, it’s fantastically funny, fiendishly clever and a joy from start to finish. Read the first chapter here.

The Jealousy Man and Other Stories by Jo Nesbo
out 30 September
Full of dark thrills, twisted minds and unrelenting suspense, this is a page-turning collection of twelve crime stories from the master storyteller behind the bestselling Harry Hole series. Expertly crafted and oozing with atmosphere, each tale provides the perfect escape for an hour or two.

Apples Never Fall by Liane Moriarty
out 14 September
From the author of Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers comes an addictive new novel that takes us behind the closed doors of seemingly tranquil suburbia, where the closer the family, the bigger the lies. Packed with wit and human insight, this is a twisty tale that’s impossible to put down.

Never Saw Me Coming by Vera Kurian
out 9 September
Meet Chloe: an ordinary first-year student – who’s also a highly intelligent diagnosed psychopath. Perfect for fans of My Sister the Serial Killer and Killing Eve, this whip-smart debut is sharp, electrifying and guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat. Read a chapter here.

The Couple at No. 9 by Claire Douglas
out 30 September
When Saffy’s grandmother goes into a care home, Saffy inherits her cottage. But when renovation work begins, the body of a woman is uncovered in the garden. Combining emotional drama and shocking twists, this is a heart-in-mouth read that’s as thrilling as they come.

The Midnight Hour by Elly Griffiths
out 30 September
When a theatrical impresario is found dead, private detective duo Emma Holmes and Sam Collins try to prove his wife’s innocence. Elly Griffiths’s sixth historical mystery set in Brighton is intricately plotted, with excellent characterisation and a strong sense of place. It doesn’t fail to delight.

Safe at Home by Lauren North
out 30 September
What if you left your child home alone, and something terrible happened? This is the gut-wrenching scenario at the heart of the gripping new domestic thriller from the bestselling author of The Perfect Betrayal. It’s a tense and emotional family drama with twists and turns that will keep you guessing.

Hunt by Leona Deakin
out 16 September
Dr Augusta Bloom returns in Leona Deakin’s third chilling thriller that blends psychological suspense and investigative procedure. Perfect for fans of M J Arlidge and Cara Hunter, Hunt sees Bloom go undercover in an attempt to catch a deadly killer. Don’t miss this pulse-pounding must-read.

Next of Kin by Kia Abdullah
out 2 September
Leila Syed’s worst nightmare is about to come true in this intense, nail-biting and emotionally-driven novel that develops into a thoroughly gripping courtroom drama. If you’re looking for a thought-provoking story that will stay with you long after you’ve finished it, Next of Kin is for you.

Invite Me In by Emma Curtis
out 2 September
This September sees Emma Curtis deliver another first class psychological thriller about the chilling unravelling of a far from perfect marriage. This is a brilliantly plotted, creepy read with compelling characters, surprising twists and suspense that grows with every chapter.

The Burning by Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman
out 21 September
When a wealthy man is found murdered in his hilltop home, things get personal for Deputy Coroner Clay Edison as he’s shocked to discover a link to his own brother on the scene. The latest fast-paced, action-packed thriller from this brilliant father-son writing duo is intriguing to the very last page.

The Heron’s Cry by Ann Cleeves
out 2 September
DI Venn investigates an elaborately staged murder that hits dangerously close to home in the powerful follow-up to The Long Call. With believable characters you really root for, this is sure to become an unmissable series – we can’t wait to see it on the small screen alongside Vera and Shetland!

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

1 Comment

    I am fascinated by the books, titles and captions.

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.