Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

With summer days just around the corner, there’s plenty to look forward to in May – not least a brilliant haul of new crime fiction.

We can’t wait to get our hands on new releases from Frank Gardner, Nicola Moriarty and Tom Bradby, as well as must-read debuts by Ajay Chowdhury and Lia Middleton. And if you prefer a paperback, Richard Osman, Denise Mina and Gregg Hurwitz have you covered.

With so many great titles to choose from, there really is something for everyone this month! What will you choose?

The best books out this month:

When They Find Her by Lia Middleton
out 13 May
Penned by a barrister specialising in crime and prison law, this is a sharp, sophisticated and intense debut thriller about a desperate mother, a tragic accident and a terrible lie that spirals out of control. Combining a dark plot with white-knuckle pace, it’s impossible to put it down.

The Waiter by Ajay Chowdhury
out 27 May
Disgraced detective turned Brick Lane waiter Kamil Rahman is about to find himself embroiled in a case that might just change his life – for better or for worse. This witty, absorbing novel from the winner of the Harvill Secker Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Competition is as gripping as they come.

Outbreak by Frank Gardner
out 27 May
MI6 operative Luke Carlton returns to the field on his most terrifying mission yet in the third explosive thriller from BBC security correspondent Frank Gardner. Outbreak is a pulse-racing, page-turning read that confronts the all-too-real horrors of 21st century bio-terrorism.

The Guest Book by C L Pattison
out 27 May
From the author of The Housemate comes a haunting, claustrophobic psychological thriller perfect for fans of Harriet Tyce, Lisa Jewell and Ruth Ware. With tension that builds and builds with every chapter it’s guaranteed to leave you on the edge of your seat. Read a chapter of the book here.

Triple Cross by Tom Bradby
out 13 May
Against her better judgement, Kate Henderson is forced out of retirement from the Secret Service and into a top-secret, deeply flawed and dangerous investigation in this high-stakes thriller from ITV News Anchor Tom Bradby. Full of twists and turns, it’s complex, fast-paced and completely gripping.

Left You Dead by Peter James
out 13 May
DS Roy Grace investigates his most mysterious case yet in the latest instalment of Peter James’s bestselling series. Fast-paced and perfectly plotted, with characters that really shine, this is one not to miss if you were hooked on ITV’s Grace.

Don’t Let Him In by Howard Linskey
out 13 May
Set on the Northumberland coast in a small town where an unnerving number of people have died over the years, this atmospheric crime novel has a terrifying premise that’ll send a shiver down your spine. Creepy, twisty and suspenseful, it’s brilliantly crafted with chills and thrills a’plenty.

You Need to Know by Nicola Moriarty
out 27 May
The Ex-Girlfriend author returns with a brand new read that readers of Lisa Jewell, Adele Parks and Louise Candlish will love this month. Telling the story of a family’s devastating accident and the tangle of dark secrets and lies it reveals, this is an intriguing domestic drama that you’ll race through.

Both of You by Adele Parks
out 27 May
DC Clements is determined to unearth the truth when two women vanish, leaving their seemingly happy families behind. Told from multiple viewpoints, Both of You is pacy, compelling and just when you think you know the solution, you’ll find yourself guessing again…

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.