Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

Here at Dead Good, we might not be able to guarantee you a month of nothing but blue skies and sunshine, but we can recommend some brilliant reads so you can make the most of the British summer whatever the weather.

July sees a raft of fantastic new thrillers, including titles from Lisa Jewell, Gillian McAllister and Arnaldur Indridason. If it’s a paperback you’re after, there are plenty on offer from the likes of Tim Weaver, Robert Harris and Lesley Kara.

So find yourself your perfect reading spot at home, grab that sun-lounger on holiday or make the most of the long, light evenings with a gripping page turner from this sizzling selection.

The best books out this month

The Night She Disappeared by Lisa Jewell
out 22 July
Told from different viewpoints across multiple timelines, this perfectly crafted, suspenseful mystery from the author of The Family Upstairs doesn’t disappoint. It’s dark and twisty, with tension that builds and builds, and we guarantee it’ll be an absolute must-read this summer. Read the first two chapters here.

Private Rogue by James Patterson and Adam Hamdy
out 8 July
What at first seems to be a simple missing persons case soon escalates into something much more deadly in the latest book in James Patterson’s unmissable series. Featuring private investigator Jack Morgan, this fast-paced, action-packed read will keep you on the edge of your seat.

That Night by Gillian McAllister
out 8 July
Packed to the brim with tension and suspense, Gillian McAllister’s gripping new psychological thriller will make you question what you would do if you found yourself in a truly extraordinary situation. If you love Louise Candlish and Clare Mackintosh, you won’t want to miss this.

The Darkness Knows by Arnaldur Indridason
out 1 July
Perfect for readers of Ann Cleeves and Ragnar Jonasson, The Darkness Knows sees a retired policeman reopening a case that has weighed on his mind for decades. It’s a powerful story from the master of Icelandic crime writing about the poisonous secrets that time eventually uncovers.

Damage by Caitlin Wahrer
out 8 July
Damage is a compulsive drama about a family torn apart by an alleged assault and the cracks that begin to show in the aftermath. Addictive and twisty, this fast-paced and shocking debut explores themes of justice and doubt, ultimately asking how far you would go to protect your family.

All Her Fault by Andrea Mara
out 22 July
Four women in a close-knit community are thrust into the harsh spotlight when a young child goes missing in this explosive and twisty thriller from bestseller Andrea Mara. Combining domestic intrigue, psychological drama and emotional intensity, this book will hook you in from the very beginning.

Bryant and May: London Bridge is Falling Down by Christopher Fowler

The Rising Tide by Sam Lloyd
out 8 July
This beautifully written, evocative and pulse-pounding new novel from the author of Richard and Judy book club pick The Memory Wood sees one woman battling to save her family against the unforgettable backdrop of a once-in-a-generation storm. We can’t recommend it enough.

Bryant and May: London Bridge is Falling Down by Christopher Fowler
out 22 July
Detectives Bryant and May break rules, infuriate officials and maybe, just maybe, catch the criminal in this hugely entertaining and unorthodox new investigation. There’s no other series like this one – it’s clever, imaginative and a treat to return to time and time again.

Rabbit Hole by Mark Billingham
out 22 July
Alice, a former detective and current psychiatric patient, takes matters into her own hands when she suspects a fellow patient has been murdered – only for her life to start to unravel. This new standalone has a great premise, twists and red herrings abound and a brilliant sense of humour.

The Killer Inside by Matthew Frank
out 22 July
Haunted army veteran and Detective Constable Joseph Stark returns in Matthew Frank’s brand new crime thriller – a first class police procedural with excellent characters and expert plotting. This one is guaranteed to keep you turning the pages with its twists and turns!

The Dying Day by Vaseem Khan
out 8 July
For over a century, one of the world’s great treasures has been safely housed at Bombay’s Asiatic Society – but when it vanishes, together with the man charged with its care, the case lands on Inspector Persis Wadia’s desk. What follows is a witty and atmospheric tale that’s as entertaining as it is fascinating.

The Nameless Ones by John Connolly
out 8 July
Fans of Louis and Angel will be excited to hear they take centre stage in the nineteenth Charlie Parker thriller which is heading our way in July. Violent, vivid and not one for the faint-hearted, The Nameless Ones is brilliantly written and gripping to the very end.

Widespread Panic by James Ellroy
out 1 July
Transport yourself to the sleazy underbelly of 1950s LA in James Ellroy’s latest noir novel where fan-favourite Freddy Otash is dishing the dirt on the scandals of the era. With Ellroy’s trademark writing style, this is a brutal, intense and often funny roller coaster of a book.

Razorblade Tears by S A Cosby
out 6 July
This powerful thriller explores grief and redemption through the story of two ex-cons and their fight for revenge following the deaths of their sons. Pacy, action-packed and emotionally raw, this is an outstanding read that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.

The Doll by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
out 22 July
The Doll is a well-plotted slow burner with a creepy premise and surprising twists and turns that will keep you guessing. With complex, intricate strands that weave together and unfold beautifully and engaging, believable characters, this is a hugely satisfying novel.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

1 Comment

    I am fascinated by the books, titles and captions.

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.