Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

With warmer days and lighter evenings stretching before us, May is the perfect month to seek out some great books to entice us into parks, gardens or that sunny spot in the window to enjoy a thrilling read.

We’re excited to get stuck into one of the most talked about thrillers of the year from Gillian McAllister, as well as Ajay Chowdhury’s next instalment in the Detective Kamil Rahman series and a new Bond thriller by Anthony Horowitz. With so many cracking titles hitting the shelves this month, you’ll want to read them all!

The best new books out this month:

With A Mind to Kill by Anthony Horowitz
out 26 May
James Bond must grapple with the darkest questions about himself in the explosive final 007 novel from Trigger Mortis author Anthony Horowitz. It’s a fast-paced and expertly crafted page turner that complements Fleming’s books perfectly. Don’t miss it.

The Cook by Ajay Chowdhury
out 5 May
Ex-Kolkata detective Kamil Rahman has new murders to solve in London’s Brick Lane, where trouble still knows how to find him. Fans of Elly Griffiths, Mark Billingham and Robert Galbraith are in for a treat with this first-class series. Read a chapter here.

Wrong Place, Wrong Time by Gillian McAllister
out 12 May
How do you stop a murder when it’s already happened? Gillian McAllister’s new thriller about the lengths to which one woman will go to save her family combines the emotion of Clare Mackintosh with the tension of Louise Candlish and Lisa Jewell.

The Hiding Place by Simon Lelic
out 5 May
When the body of a boy missing for 20 years is found, his old friends – now powerful figures in the country – fall under suspicion. With tension that builds and builds, this is a pulse-pounding detective thriller for readers of The Guest List and The Chalk Man.

Yesterday’s Spy by Tom Bradby
out 26 May
Against the backdrop of one of the defining events of the Cold War, the brand new standalone from ITV News at Ten Anchor Tom Bradby delivers espionage and intrigue, fast-paced plotting and compelling storytelling. A must-read for spy thriller aficionados.

After Dark by Jayne Cowie
out 26 May
Set in the near future where all men have a 7pm curfew, this is a timely high-concept thriller and an addictive murder mystery that’s a guaranteed conversation starter. Bold and thought-provoking, it’ll stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.

Summer Fever by Kate Riordan
out 12 May
A hot Italian summer. Two seemingly happy couples. One dark secret that could ruin them all… Kate Riordan’s suspense novel is an irresistible holiday read with an evocative setting and tightly-plotted tension that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

The Sanctuary by Andrew Hunter Murray
out 26 May
The highly anticipated second novel from the author of the The Last Day is a high-concept thriller that will provoke and grip you from the very first page. Pacy, with a killer hook and characters you’ll really root for, it’s as intriguing as they come.

Sparring Partners by John Grisham
out 31 May
This new collection of novellas from the master of the legal thriller is perfect for when you have an hour or two to spare. Full of thrills, the three shorter stories are suspenseful from start to finish and are sure to delight Grisham fans.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

The President's Daughter by Bill Clinton and James Patterson

Have we missed any of the best new books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

4 Comments

    Definitely the best review and purchase site for books bar none

    So very glad we have you guys! Your input is invaluable. Thank you so much.

    It’s a great place to find out about new publications and their authors.

    I am fascinated by the books, titles and captions.

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.