Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

With British Summer Time officially upon us, there’s no better way to while away the lighter evenings than with one of April’s exciting new releases. And there sure are plenty to choose from this month!

Take your pick from highly anticipated thrillers by Cara Hunter, Heidi Perks and Kotaro Isaka, or lose yourself in long-awaited paperbacks from Jo Nesbo, Alex North and Shari Lapena.

With a raft of tempting titles, from gripping police procedurals to chilling psychological mysteries, there’s something for everyone – and most likely, you’ll be spoiled for choice.

The best books out this month:

Missing Pieces by Tim Weaver
out 15 April
If you’ve never read a Tim Weaver book before, now’s the perfect time as his new standalone thriller is heading our way in April. Introducing Rebekah, a woman stranded on an island, stalked by danger, Missing Pieces is a twisty, must-read page turner perfect for fans of Peter May and Val McDermid.

The Whole Truth by Cara Hunter
out 29 April
Cara Hunter fans, rejoice! Her brilliant new book hits shelves this month, following DI Fawley and his team as they investigate a sexual assault allegation in the closed world of Oxford academia. Fiendishly clever and gripping to the very last page, this is a series that just gets better and better.

Bullet Train by Kotaro Isaka
out 1 April
Five killers find themselves on a bullet train from Tokyo competing for a suitcase full of money. Who will make it to the last station? This is an original, propulsive thriller from a prize-winning Japanese bestseller – and it’s already set to be a major film starring Brad Pitt and Sandra Bullock. We can’t wait.

The Whispers by Heidi Perks
out 15 April
If you like Liane Moriarty, Lesley Kara and Fiona Barton, you’ll love the new psychological thriller from the author of Richard and Judy book club pick Now You See Her. The tension builds and builds with every chapter in this suspenseful tale of friendship, jealousy and obsession. Read an extract here.

Tall Bones by Anna Bailey
out 1 April
In Whittling Ridge, a 17-year-old girl is missing – and it’s only a matter of time before the small town’s dark secrets come to light. With first class writing and all the twists and turns of a thriller, Tall Bones is a slow-burning atmospheric novel that readers of Jane Harper and Gillian Flynn will love.

Greenwich Park by Katherine Faulkner
out 15 April
When Helen attends her first antenatal class, she’s not expecting to meet Rachel, a mother-to-be who just wants find out every last one of Helen’s secrets… Told from multiple viewpoints, this is a creepy, twisted thriller full of drip-fed clues that will keep you guessing right to the very end.

The Red Book by James Patterson
out 1 April
Detective Billy Harney exposes an evil lurking deep within his city – but it also brings his past demons to light. This hugely anticipated follow-up to Patterson’s bestseller The Black Book is a fast-paced, absorbing thriller guaranteed to have you on the edge of your seat.

The Cook of the Halcyon by Andrea Camilleri
out 1 April
Transport yourself to Sicily this spring as Inspector Montalbano steps aboard a mysterious ship seemingly connected with two deaths. It’s packed to the brim with intrigue, Camilleri’s trademark humour and – of course – huge quantities of delicious Sicilian food, and doesn’t fail to delight.

The Bone Code by Kathy Reichs
out 29 April
Forensic anthropologist Dr Temperance Brennan is back for her twentieth outing in The Bone Code, where two bodies washed up on the beach share uncanny similarities with a cold case from fifteen years ago. Dark and tense, this is a crime novel that oozes with fascinating scientific insight.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Bryant and May: Oranges and Lemons by Christopher Fowler

Lost Souls by Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.