Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

October: the month the clocks go back, the rain sets in and we realise autumn is well and truly here.

But with new releases from the likes of Lee Child, Elly Griffiths, Stuart Turton and James Patterson – not to mention all the brilliant paperbacks! – we’re looking forward to the longer evenings ahead.

Whatever you choose to read in the next few weeks, we recommend pairing it with a cup of something warm and a cosy blanket or two. Without further ado, here’s our pick of the best books out this month.

The best books out this month:

The Sentinel by Lee Child and Andrew Child

The Postscript Murders by Elly Griffiths

The Devil and the Dark Water by Stuart Turton

The Sentinel by Lee Child and Andrew Child
out 27 October
Here’s the book we’ve all been waiting for – the new edge-of-your-seat, heart-in-mouth Jack Reacher thriller, and the first that sees Lee Child join forces with his brother Andrew. This action-packed instalment sees our hero doing what he does best: righting wrongs – like only he can. Read a chapter here.

The Postscript Murders by Elly Griffiths
out 1 October
The Stranger Diaries‘ DS Harbinder Kaur returns this month in Elly Griffiths’s absorbing new murder mystery where a natural death doesn’t look so unsuspicious after all. With a cast of compelling characters and a clever puzzle to solve, this is a hugely entertaining read for colder, darker nights.

The Devil and the Dark Water by Stuart Turton
out 1 October
If you loved The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle as much as we did, you’ll be desperate to get your hands on Stuart Turton’s second book – a complex, atmospheric and quirky tale that’s part epic adventure, part detective novel, putting a spin on the traditional Holmes and Watson duo. Don’t miss it.

The Coast-to-Coast Murders by James Patterson

A Song For the Dark Times by Ian Rankin

Lost by Leona Deakin
out 29 October
How can you solve a crime if you can’t remember the clues? With missing people, explosions and a global mystery, Dr Augusta Bloom returns in the follow up to Gone. Perfect for fans of M J Arlidge, Cara Hunter and Fiona Barton, this authentic thriller is as intriguing and gripping as they come.

The Coast-to-Coast Murders by James Patterson
out 1 October
A detective and FBI agent join forces on a manhunt for a cold-blooded serial killer in this intense psychological thriller from master storyteller James Patterson. It’s a sharp, suspenseful read that will see fans of of Gillian Flynn, Alex Michaelides and A J Finn glued firmly to the edge of their seat.

A Song for the Dark Times by Ian Rankin
out 1 October
Rebus may be retired, but when trouble strikes close to home it’s up to him to unearth the truth in a small town with big secrets. As gritty and brilliantly crafted as ever, weaving expertly in and out of two separate cases, this is a book you’re guaranteed to race through.

A Time for Mercy by John Grisham
out 13 October
Starring A Time to Kill‘s hero, defence lawyer Jake Brigance, A Time for Mercy certainly won’t disappoint John Grisham fans. Coupling fascinating legal insights with fast-paced, suspenseful writing, it’s an unputdownable, twisty courtroom drama.

The Sicilian Method by Andrea Camilleri
out 15 October
Transport yourself to Sicily this October and fall under the spell of our dear friend Inspector Montalbano. With a wonderful, vivid setting and characters you’ll fall in love with, this charming, beautifully written mystery doesn’t fail to delight.

I Follow You by Peter James
out 1 October
Set in Jersey, the new standalone thriller from Roy Grace author Peter James tells a chilling tale of stalking and obsession. It’s a nail-biting, nerve-shredding, read-in-one-sitting kind of book that’ll have you desperate to find out what happens next.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

He Started It by Samantha Downing

The Benefit of Hindsight by Susan Hill

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.