Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

It’s beginning to look a lot like December! As we untangle our fairy lights, dust off our Christmas jumpers and loosen our belts in anticipation of the festive season we’ve got some great recommendations to add to your Christmas list.

Some of us will embrace the end of the year with open arms, whilst others will lament the year gone by. But most of us will welcome the opportunity to steal a moment in one of the busiest months to hanker down with a good book and let someone else do the washing up. Here’s our top picks of December’s thrilling releases.

The best books out this month:

Out For Blood by Deborah Masson

Out For Blood by Deborah Masson
out 10 December
DI Eve Hunter is back in a new edge-of-your-seat detective thriller from the winner of the Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Cara Hunter and Helen Fields, Deborah combines gripping storytelling, dark plots and a complex, relatable main character to create a truly unputdownable read.

Winterkill by Ragnar Jonasson
out 10 December
Icelandic superstar Ragnar Jonasson concludes the Dark Iceland series this month with his chilling, unsettling new novel Winterkill. This mystery is as atmospheric and claustrophobic as they come, with suspense that builds and builds. We guarantee it’ll stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.

NYPD Red 6 by James Patterson
out 31 December
At the wedding of the century in New York City, a brazen kidnapper steals the show – by making the bride disappear. Detective Kylie MacDonald of NYPD Red, already at the scene as a plus-one, investigates, with no A-list celebrity above suspicion. Twisty and compelling, this is a perfect book to escape with for a few hours.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

The Glass House by Eve Chase

Rules for Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.