Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

The best books out this month

If, like us, your New Year’s resolution is to read even more books, then there are some great new releases in January to get you off to a cracking start.

We’re eagerly awaiting thrilling page turners from Liz Nugent and Tony Parsons, and can’t wait to see what new twists Belinda Bauer has in store, amongst many others.

If ever there was a month to hibernate with a good book it’s January, and with this selection of gripping reads you’ll be spoilt for choice!

The best books out this month:

The Push by Ashley Audrain
out 7 January
What happens when your experience of motherhood is nothing what you hoped for, but everything you feared? That’s the question Ashley Audrain’s standout debut asks. Guaranteed to send a chill down your spine, this is a must-read that’s pacy, absorbing and incredibly hard to put down.

Our Little Cruelties by Liz Nugent
out 21 January
Three brothers are at a funeral. One of them is in the coffin. Which brother put him there, and why? No one writes psychological thrillers quite like Liz Nugent – they’re incredibly dark and perfectly crafted with a sense of menace that really gets under your skin. Don’t miss this.

Your Neighbour’s Wife by Tony Parsons
out 7 January
When Tana makes a mistake in a moment of madness, her life begins to spin out of control – with devastating consequences. Tony Parsons’ first psychological thriller combines emotional warmth with the excitement of his bestselling DC Max Wolfe books to create a fast-paced, page-turning read.

Exit by Belinda Bauer
out 21 January
From the author of Snap comes a brilliant new novel introducing pensioner Felix Pink, an unlikely hero who’s about to find out it’s never too late for life to go horribly wrong. This is a crime book like no other: it’s heart-pounding, darkly comic and hugely original, and we can’t recommend it enough.

The Burning Girls by C J Tudor
out 21 January
C J Tudor is back with her unique blend of chills and thrills and her darkest, twistiest novel yet this month. It transports us to the small village of Chapel Croft, a seemingly peaceful village with a dark history that no one can escape. Read an extract here.

Before She Disappeared by Lisa Gardner
out 26 January
Meet Frankie Elkin – a woman determined to find the missing people everyone else has forgotten, and the star of Lisa Gardner’s first standalone thriller in ten years. With first class plotting and a compelling heroine, this is the perfect place to start if you’ve never tried Lisa’s books before.

Two Wrongs by Rebecca Reid
out 21 January
Perfect for fans of Adele Parks, Claire Douglas and Jane Corry, Two Wrongs explores how far someone will go to correct a terrible wrong from their past. Deliciously dark, intriguing and packed with tension, this is one you’ll race through, desperate to find out what happens.

The Coffinmaker’s Garden by Stuart MacBride
out 7 January
As a storm batters the Scottish coast, Gordon Smith’s home is falling into the sea. But the crumbling headland has revealed what he’s got buried in his garden: human remains. Ex-DI Ash Henderson is on the case in this gritty, atmospheric crime novel that balances darkness and light perfectly.

The Survivors by Jane Harper
out 21 January
When a body is discovered on the beach in a small town, long-held secrets threaten to emerge in the brand new novel from the author of The Dry and The Lost Man. It’s a slow burning character study that unfolds beautifully up to the dramatic, explosive conclusion.

I Know What I Saw by S K Sharp
out 28 January
Brilliantly plotted and packed full of twists and turns, I Know What I Saw will keep you guessing right until the end. Domestic suspense fans will be absorbed by this gripping mystery that confronts family relationships and long-buried secrets.

The Last Thing to Burn by Will Dean
out 7 January
Will Dean’s atmospheric new novel is far from an easy read, but it’s certainly one you won’t forget in a hurry. Exploring themes of abuse and human trafficking, it’s a harrowing, brutal, powerful tale that’s so well-written you can’t help but keep turning the pages.

Shiver by Allie Reynolds
out 21 January
When Milla’s invited to a reunion in the Alps, she drops everything to go. But when things turn menacing, they realise they don’t know who’s really gathered them there. Mind games, a dangerous natural environment and tension that builds and builds make Shiver a seriously suspenseful mystery.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

Have we missed any of the best books out this month? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.