Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fictionExplore deals

Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fiction Explore deals

Dublin Murder Squad books in order

Looking for Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad books in order? Look no further!

Turns out murder is rife in Dublin, at least it is in Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series, where each book features a new case led by a different investigator, making it a crime series like no other.

Dubbed as the First Lady of Irish crime, French is a master of character design and clever plotting, fascinated with both ordinary and murderous minds.

It’s no wonder French has won multiple awards for this series, which has now been adapted for television. Once you’ve read one Tana French book, you’ll have to read them all.

Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad books in order:

In the Woods by Tana French

1. In the Woods (2006)

When he was twelve years old, Adam Ryan went playing in the woods with his two best friends. He never saw them again. Their bodies were never found, and Adam himself was discovered with his back pressed against an oak tree and his shoes filled with blood. He had no memory of what had happened.

Twenty years on, Rob Ryan – the child who came back – is a detective in the Dublin police force. He’s changed his name. No one knows about his past. Then a little girl’s body is found at the site of the old tragedy and Rob is drawn back into the mystery. Knowing that he would be thrown off the case if his past were revealed, Rob takes a fateful decision to keep quiet but hope that he might also solve the twenty-year-old mystery of the woods.

The Likeness by Tana French

2. The Likeness (2008)

Still traumatised by her brush with a psychopath, Detective Cassie Maddox transfers out of the Murder squad and starts a relationship with fellow detective Sam O’Neill. When he calls her to the scene of his new case, she is shocked to find that the murdered girl is her double. What’s more, her ID shows she is Lexie Madison – the identity Cassie used, years ago, as an undercover detective.

With no leads, no suspects and no clues to Lexie’s real identity, Cassie’s old boss spots the opportunity of a lifetime: send Cassie undercover in her place, to tempt the killer out of hiding to finish the job.

Faithful Place by Tana French

3. Faithful Place (2010)

The course of Frank Mackey’s life was set by one defining moment when he was nineteen. The moment his girlfriend, Rosie Daly, failed to turn up for their rendezvous in Faithful Place, failed to run away with him to London as they had planned. Frank never heard from her again.

Twenty years on, Frank is still in Dublin, working as an undercover cop. He’s cut all ties with his dysfunctional family. Until his sister calls to say that Rosie’s suitcase has been found. Frank embarks on a journey into his past that demands he reevaluate everything he believes to be true.

Broken Harbour by Tana French

4. Broken Harbour (2012)

In Broken Harbour, a ghost estate outside Dublin – half-built, half-inhabited, half-abandoned – two children and their father are dead. The mother is on her way to intensive care. Scorcher Kennedy is given the case because he is the Murder squad’s star detective. At first he and his rookie partner, Richie, think this is a simple one: Pat Spain was a casualty of the recession, so he killed his children, tried to kill his wife Jenny, and finished off with himself. But there are too many inexplicable details and the evidence is pointing in two directions at once.

Scorcher’s personal life is tugging for his attention. Seeing the case on the news has sent his sister Dina off the rails again, and she’s resurrecting something that Scorcher thought he had tightly under control: what happened to their family, one summer at Broken Harbour, back when they were children. The neat compartments of his life are breaking down, and the sudden tangle of work and family is putting both at risk…

The Secret Place by Tana French

5. The Secret Place (2014)

Detective Stephen Moran hasn’t seen Holly Mackey since she was a nine-year-old witness to the events of Faithful Place. Now she’s sixteen and she’s shown up outside his squad room, with a photograph and a story.

Even in her exclusive boarding school, in the graceful golden world that Stephen has always longed for, bad things happen and people have secrets. The previous year, Christopher Harper, from the neighbouring boys’ school, was found murdered on the grounds. And today, in the Secret Place – the school noticeboard where girls can pin up their secrets anonymously – Holly found the card.

Solving this case could take Stephen onto the Murder squad. But to get it solved, he will have to work with Detective Antoinette Conway – tough, prickly, an outsider, everything Stephen doesn’t want in a partner. And he will have to find a way into the strange, charged, mysterious world that Holly and her three closest friends inhabit and disentangle the truth from their knot of secrets, even as he starts to suspect that the truth might be something he doesn’t want to hear.

The Trespasser by Tana French

6. The Trespasser (2016)

Being on the Dublin Murder squad is nothing like Detective Antoinette Conway dreamed. Her working life is a stream of thankless cases and harassment. Antoinette is tough, but she’s getting close to the breaking point.

The new case looks like a regular lovers’ quarrel gone bad. Aislinn Murray is blond, pretty and lying dead next to a table set for a romantic dinner. There’s nothing unusual about her – except that Antoinette has seen her somewhere before.

And her death won’t stay neat. Other detectives want her to arrest Aislinn’s boyfriend, fast. There’s a shadowy figure at the end of Antoinette’s road. And everything they find out about Aislinn takes her further from the simple woman she seemed to be.

Antoinette knows the harassment has turned her paranoid, but she can’t tell just how far gone she is. Is this the case that will make her career – or break it?

There you have it – all Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad books in order! How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

Read an extract from Tana French’s brand new standovel, The Searcher, here.

Books like Dublin Murder Squad:


    When will these books be available in large print

    But we never get to find out what happened to Jamie and Peter from in the woods do we… do the other books (without spoiling) have similar endings?

    Amazingly, I thought this series would be based on the ‘Dublin Murders’ series, written by Valerie Keogh. I have found this series well written, informative and a joy to listen to on Audible. Bit of a confusing mix-up really!!

    I listened to all of them on spotify, i hope i will see more from tana french in the future

    What about Rob? And I agree – I’m disappointed if Cassie’s story is left where it ended in The Likeness.

    I find it will be hard to put Cassie Maddox aside. Her intelligence, passion, and complexity in the first two novels were intriguing. If she is gone forever, I will be sad.

    I’ve read “The Searcher”. I could not put it down. I hope Ms. French makes a series of it. Loved it!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.