Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fictionExplore deals

Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fiction Explore deals

Fiona Barton Books in Order | All Novels [Updated 2023]

Looking for Fiona Barton’s books in order of publication? Look no further!

The widower of an accused man, the skeleton of a baby found on a building site and the disappearance of two teenage girls backpacking in Thailand. Each of Fiona Barton’s standalone thrillers delves into a worst nightmare and tells the story through multiple perspectives to help discover the truth.

Inspired by Barton’s own career as a reporter, the books are all linked by feisty journalist Kate Waters, who investigates each case from her unique perspective.

A Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller from the off, there are three addictive stories to read so far, with more to come.

Fiona Barton books in order:

The Widow by Fiona Barton

1. The Widow (2016)

We’ve all seen him: the man – the monster – staring from the front page of every newspaper, accused of a terrible crime. But what about her: the woman who grips his arm on the courtroom stairs – the wife who stands by him?

Jean Taylor’s life was blissfully ordinary. Nice house, nice husband. Glen was all she’d ever wanted: her Prince Charming. Until he became that man accused, that monster on the front page. Jean was married to a man everyone thought capable of unimaginable evil.

But now Glen is dead and she’s alone for the first time, free to tell her story on her own terms. Jean Taylor is going to tell us what she knows.

The Child by Fiona Barton

2. The Child (2017)

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers it’s impossible to ignore.

For one woman, it’s a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her. For another, it reveals the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered. And for the third, a journalist, it’s the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth.

The child’s story will be told.

The Suspect by Fiona Barton

3. The Suspect (2019)

When two eighteen-year-old girls go missing on their gap year in Thailand, their families are thrust into the international spotlight: desperate, bereft and frantic with worry.

Journalist Kate Waters always does everything she can to be first to the story, first with the exclusive, first to discover the truth – and this time is no exception. But she can’t help but think of her own son, who she hasn’t seen in two years, since he left home to go travelling. This time it’s personal.

And as the case of the missing girls unfolds, they will all find that even this far away, danger can lie closer to home than you might think . . .

Local Gone Missing by Fiona Barton

4. Local Gone Missing (2022)

After a bout of illness throws her career as a detective into doubt, Elise King moves to the sleepy seaside town of Ebbing to get some much needed rest. But no matter how hard she tries to relax, she can’t shake the feeling that something isn’t quite right.

When two teenagers end up in hospital and a local man vanishes without trace, Elise starts digging for answers. But the idyllic seeming community closes ranks, and the truth begins to slip through her fingers. After all, in a small place like this, the locals are good at keeping secrets…

There you have it – all Fiona Barton books in order of publication! How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

Love Fiona Barton? You’ll love these…

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.