Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

Max Wolfe books in order

Looking for Tony Parsons’ Max Wolfe books in order? Look no further!

Tony Parsons‘ DC Max Wolfe thrillers are gritty, gripping police procedurals perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.

Max Wolfe is a hero for our times – a tough man with a soft heart who will stop at nothing to get justice and protect those he loves. Based in the homicide division of London’s West End Central, he hunts down brutal serial killers by day, returning home to his young daughter and dog – his small but strong family unit.

Here’s a taster of Tony’s Max Wolfe books in order.

Tony Parsons’ Max Wolfe books in order

The Murder Bag by Tony Parsons

1. The Murder Bag

Twenty years ago seven rich, privileged students became friends at their exclusive private school, Potter’s Field. Now they have started dying in the most violent way imaginable.

Detective Max Wolfe has recently arrived in the Homicide division of London’s West End Central, 27 Savile Row. Soon he is following the bloody trail from the backstreets and bright lights of the city, to the darkest corners of the internet and all the way to the corridors of power.

As the bodies pile up, Max finds the killer’s reach getting closer to everything – and everyone – he loves. Soon he is fighting not only for justice, but for his own life.

The Slaughter Man by Tony Parsons

2. The Slaughter Man

A wealthy family is found slaughtered inside their exclusive gated community in north London, their youngest child stolen away. The murder weapon – a gun for stunning cattle before they are butchered – leads Max to a dusty corner of Scotland Yard’s Black Museum devoted to a killer who thirty years ago was known as the Slaughter Man.

But the Slaughter Man has done his time, and is now old and dying. Can he really be back in the game? And was the murder of a happy family a mindless killing spree, a grotesque homage by a copycat killer – or a contract hit designed to frame a dying man?

All Max knows is that he needs to find the missing child and stop the killer before he destroys another innocent family – or finds his way to his own front door.

The Hanging Club by Tony Parsons

3. The Hanging Club

A band of vigilante executioners roam London’s hot summer nights, abducting evil men and hanging them by the neck until dead.

As the bodies pile up and riots explode across the sweltering city, DC Max Wolfe hunts a gang of killers who many believe to be heroes, and discovers that the lust for revenge starts very close to home…

Die Last by Tony Parsons

4. Die Last

As dawn breaks on a snowy February morning, a refrigerated lorry is found parked in the heart of London’s Chinatown. Inside, twelve women, apparently illegal immigrants, are dead from hypothermia. But in the cab of the abandoned death truck, DC Max Wolfe of West End Central finds thirteen passports.

The hunt for the missing woman will take Max Wolfe into the dark heart of the world of human smuggling, mass migration and 21st-century slave markets, as he is forced to ask the question that haunts our time: what would you do for a home?

Girl on Fire by Tony Parsons

5. Girl on Fire

When terrorists use a drone to bring down a plane on one of London’s busiest shopping centres, it ignites a chain of events that will draw in the innocent and guilty alike.

DC Max Wolfe finds himself caught in the crossfire in a city that seems increasingly dangerous and hostile.

But does the danger come from the murderous criminals that Max is tracking down? Or the people he’s trying to protect? Or does the real threat to Max lie closer to home?

#Taken by Tony Parsons

6. #Taken

They thought they were kidnapping the mistress of one of London’s most powerful gangsters. But they’ve taken the wrong woman. And crossed the wrong detective.

Detective Max Wolfe’s hunt for the missing woman takes him from New Scotland Yard’s legendary Black Museum to the glittering mansions of career criminals, from sleazy strip joints to secret sex dungeons – and to unspeakably dark deeds committed decades ago.

It’s a world of family secrets, sexual jealousy, and a lust for revenge – which might also become Wolfe’s grave…

There you have it – Tony Parsons’ DC Max Wolfe books in order! How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

23 Comments

    I am reading Taken and want to take my time because I know at the moment this is the last one . Unfortunately just like the previous books its so good it’s so gripping I want to know what happens next.
    Great books Tony and I urge everyone to also read the digital shorts all excellent.
    I’m now going to try the new book reviewed today on GMBTV and hope a new max Wolfe book is in the pipeline.
    Thanks Tony Parsons😎😉

    I have just finished reading the slaughter man, thoroughly enjoyed this well researched book. I love a good thriller. Will now start on the rest of the series.
    Marie Christchurch New Zealand

    Just finished reading Taken after having read all the others one after the other – never done that before but these books are amazing and can’t put them down once I started reading them! Please let there be another one as I would love to continue catching up with the Wolfe family and feel quite bereft now I’ve read them all!

    I have just finished listening to #Taken – the end of the audio series that has kept me going through lockdown. I’m heartbroken because I want to know what happens to Max, Scout and Stan. Please can we have more soon!!

    I have read all the Max Wolfe books twice I only hope
    Mr Parsons will be writing more
    The content is well researched and the characters fully developed and the description of area of London and surrounding locations really add colour
    Please write more and let’s find out how Wolfe’s family progress

    Never been a great reader, but your books I just can’t put them down, read them all, just finishing Die Last and have bought Taken.
    Love the characters and story telling. Thanks for all the enjoyment I have had from reading them. Please keep writing😊

    Hi i’ve just finished reading your latest book’ Taken ‘ i have read all your books and looking forward to your next adventure , keep them coming please..

    Read them all, each one better than the last. Can’t wait for the next one!

    Just listening to Girl on Fire and have downloaded Taken. I hope this is not the last we have heard from Max Wolf I have enjoyed them all.

    I’ve read them all and enjoyed every one. I am owned b y a tricolor Cavalier king Charles spaniel named Loki, and agree that some of the best poems are about dogs.
    I live in Naperville Illinois and will be patiently waiting for the next visit with Max and Co. Also I might note that I have a granddaughter named Harper. Her last name being Lee I call her Scout.

    Every one of them! Fantastic stories, great characters…..excellent writing!
    Any more on the horizon?

    I was given “Taken” for my birthday. I am not an avid reader by any means, but I could not put this book down. I am now proud to say that I have read all of the Max Wolfe Books and have thourghly enjoyed them.

    I love Max Wolfe series! Im reading the Girl on Fire at the moment and looking forward to next book #Taken. And sadly it is the last one. Please do write more book on Max Wolfe series. Thank you! Great job

    I have read two books Murder Bag and The Slaughter Man I am most definitely hooked on this series.
    Totally different to another series that I am hooked on which is the Donna Leone books about the Italian Detective
    Commisario Brunetti

    Had never read any of Tony Parson’s books, until last week I came across Girl on Fire. Wow! As an ardent fan of MJ Arlidge, I was immediately hooked on this book. I will definitely be getting all the others in the series. More late night reads coming up lol

    Read three can’t wait to read the rest
    Brilliant books!

    All of them! Brilliant, I listen to them on audio while I work, it’s only taken 10 days to get through all 6 books. Well written, great characters. Thanks

    I’m on my first and it’s a page-turning book! Can’t stop reading at night!
    Love the characters, the emotional involvement in their lives, very deep personality descriptions and great plots!
    I read MAN AND BOY, MAN AND WIFE. ONE FOR MY BABY and I’m now discovering Parsons’ gift for thrillers.
    Unfortunately we don’t have them translated in Italian

    Claudia Baldelli

    I have just started reading Die Last as I thought that was the first book, I have stopped now and have got the Murder Bag and shall read them all in order. I enjoyed what I had read but felt it wasn’t your first book. Is g
    Girl on Fire the last book .

    Gill Penny

    Hi Gill! There’s a brand new DC Max Wolfe book coming out in April called #Taken 🙂

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.