Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

An interview with Mark Gatiss

E F Benson, perhaps better known for his Mapp and Lucia novels or classic mysteries, has to be the unsung master of the classic ghost story – and if you’re yet to discover his chilling tales then you’re in for a treat.

These creepy, suspenseful stories are perfect for fans of Susan Hill, M R James and Wilkie Collins – but don’t just take our word for it. Writer and actor Mark Gatiss, who has selected and introduced the tales for a new collection, is also a huge Benson fan, and we were lucky enough to quiz him on his own favourite ghost stories, his reading habits and career when he popped in to narrate the audio edition of the book.

About the book:

There’s nothing sinister about a London bus. Nothing supernatural could occur on a busy train platform. There’s nothing terrifying about a little caterpillar. And a telephone, what could be scary about that? Don’t be frightened of the dark corners of your room. Don’t be alarmed by a sudden, inexplicable chill. There’s no need for a ticking clock, a limping footstep, or a knock at the door to start you trembling. There’s nothing to be scared of. Nothing at all.

Intrigued? Find out more below…

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.