The best summer readingExplore now

Our recommended summer 2024 crime fiction Explore now

The Dead Good Reader Awards 2016 Winners

At the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, the second annual Dead Good Reader Award winners were crowned.

At a ceremony presided on by Mark Lawson with guest appearances from Tess Gerritsen and Linwood Barclay, six authors were honoured with the accolade of being best in class as voted for by crime readers. Head over to our Facebook page to watch the awards as filmed live.

Here are the winners as voted for by YOU!

The Dead Good Recommends Award for Most Recommended Book

Career of Evil by Robert GalbraithWinner: Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith (Little, Brown)


Die of Shame by Mark Billingham (Little, Brown)
In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings (Orenda)
The Missing by C L Taylor (Avon)
Tastes Like Fear by Sarah Hilary (Headline)
Untouchable Things by Tara Guha (Legend Press)

The Tess Gerritsen Award for Best Series

Love You Dead by Peter JamesWinner: Roy Grace, Peter James (Little, Brown)


Jack Reacher, Lee Child (Transworld)
Marnie Rome, Sarah Hilary (Headline)
Logan McRae, Stuart MacBride (HarperCollins)
Ruth Galloway, Elly Griffiths (Quercus)
George Mackenzie, Marnie Riches (Maze)

The Linwood Barclay Award for Most Surprising Twist

Little Black Lies by Sharon BoltonWinner: Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton (Transworld)


Disclaimer by Renee Knight (Transworld)
The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne (HarperCollins)
I let You Go by Clare Mackintosh (Sphere)
The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson (Faber & Faber)
When She Was Bad by Tammy Cohen (Transworld)

The Papercut Award for Best Page Turner

The Girl in the Ice by Robert BryndzaWinner: The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza (Bookouture)


Broken Promise by Linwood Barclay (Orion)
Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith (Little, Brown)
Follow Me by Angela Clarke (Avon)
In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware (Vintage)
Splinter the Silence by Val McDermid (Little, Brown)

The Hotel Chocolat Award for Darkest Moment

In The Cold Dark Ground by Stuart MacBrideWinner: In the Cold Dark Ground by Stuart MacBride (HarperCollins)


Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris (MIRA)
The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood (Sphere)
Little Boy Blue by M J Arlidge (Michael Joseph)
The Teacher by Katerina Diamond (Avon)
Viral by Helen Fitzgerald (Faber & Faber)

The Mörda Award for Captivating Crime in Translation

Nightblind by Ragnar JonassonWinner: Nightblind by Ragnar Jonasson (Orenda Books)


Camille by Pierre Lemaitre (MacLehose Press)
The Crow Girl by Erik Axl Sund (Vintage)
The Defenceless by Kati Hiekkapelto (Orenda Books)
I’m Travelling Alone by Samuel Bjork (Doubleday)
The Undesired by Yrsa Sigurdardottir (Hodder & Stoughton)

Each winner received a specially designed magnifying glass trophy in an event presided over by Mark Lawson.

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.