Tchéky Karyo returns as Julien Baptiste in new BBC One drama Baptiste

julien baptiste series 1

From Harry and Jack Williams comes Baptiste, a thrilling new drama starring Tchéky Karyo as the insightful but stubborn The Missing investigator Julien Baptiste.

When Julien and his wife are on a visit to Amsterdam, the Chief of Police – who also happens to be an old girlfriend – seeks out his help due to his renowned and methodical crime-solving skills. Baptiste is rapidly embroiled in a case that looks beyond the beautiful streets, canals and houses of Amsterdam to the seamy underworld beneath.

Karyo said, ‘Julien Baptiste is very dear to me, so I’m really excited to be following his journey to the streets of Amsterdam and seeing what dark secrets he unveils this time. No doubt he’ll continue to take great risks all in the name of justice.’

Harry and Jack Williams added, ‘Julien Baptiste lives! It’s an absolute pleasure to be writing the character of Baptiste again, and working with the utterly brilliant Tchéky Karyo, who brings such depth and individuality to Julien.’

Piers Wenger, Controller of BBC Drama, commented, ‘Julien Baptiste – played by the exceptional Tchéky Karo – is one of the Williams brothers’ greatest creations and utterly deserving of his own show. This first series of Baptiste will allow us to discover more about Julien than ever before as he is parachuted into the centre of a shocking and wide-ranging crime story.’

Filming starts later this year in Amsterdam and Belgium.

Executive Producers are Harry and Jack Williams and Christopher Aird for Two Brothers Pictures and Tommy Bulfin for the BBC. The Producer is John Griffin.

Loved The Missing? Can’t wait for Baptiste series 1? Check out our list of books perfect for fans of The Missing!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.