The best books out in April

best books out in april 2019

With the Easter bank holiday weekend just a few short weeks away, we’re stockpiling a bunch of exciting new reads to keep us busy while we consume every chocolate egg in sight.

Whether you want to explore a remote Icelandic island with Ragnar Jonasson or join G R Halliday for a trip up to the Scottish Highlands, April is full of gripping thrillers and good ol’ murder mysteries that will transport you far and wide.

Which new books will you be adding to your shelf?

The best books out in April

best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019

No Way Out by Cara Hunter
18 April
Close to Home and In the Dark fans will be excited to hear that Adam Fawley and his team of Oxford detectives are back this month in Cara Hunter’s brand new crime thriller. Up against one of the most disturbing cases they’ve ever seen, the characters shine in this pacy, absorbing police procedural.

The Confessions of Frannie Langton by Sara Collins
4 April
This mystery, set in 1826, follows a slave on trial for the murder of the rich couple she served. Well-written and beautifully-crafted, it’s a tale that travels across the Atlantic – from a Jamaican sugar plantation to the streets of Georgian London – and through the darkest channels of history.

#Taken by Tony Parsons
18 April
Tony Parsons’ fast-paced and brilliantly plotted new thriller follows Detective Max Wolfe through London on a kidnapping investigation that will see him caught up in a world of family secrets, sexual jealousy, and revenge – and we promise it will keep you gripped and guessing until the very last page.

best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019

From the Shadows by G R Halliday
18 April
Set against the backdrop of Inverness and the Scottish Highlands, this is the first police procedural in the DI Monica Kennedy series. It’s atmospheric, creepy and perfectly plotted, with a protagonist who’s truly intriguing – and if you like Susie Steiner and Val McDermid then this is the book for you. Read a chapter here.

Twisted by Steve Cavanagh
4 April
Steve Cavanagh’s unmissable new psychological thriller is tense, suspenseful and yes – you guessed it – 100% twisted. Hugely entertaining and seriously clever, with an absolutely brilliant premise, this roller coaster of a book is guaranteed to pull the rug out from under your feet. We promise it’s one you won’t forget in a hurry.

Stone Mothers by Erin Kelly
4 April
Packed to the brim with twists and turns, He Said / She Said author Erin Kelly’s brand new novel about a woman returning to her hometown and confronting the dark secrets she left behind years ago, is as gripping as they come. It’s a slow burner that will hook you in and leave you completely engrossed, making for a truly unputdownable read.

best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019

The Evidence Against You by Gillian McAllister
18 April
This intriguing, twisty tale of love and redemption is one not to miss this month. Viewers of The Affair, Big Little Lies and Apple Tree Yard will relish the story’s emotional dilemma that will make you question what you would do in the same situation. One thing’s for sure – we just can’t get enough of Gillian McAllister’s addictive psychological thrillers.

The Island by Ragnar Jonasson
4 April
If you loved The Darkness, you won’t want to miss the second instalment of the Hidden Iceland trilogy when it hits shelves. Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves and Peter May, The Island sees Detective Inspector Hulda Hermannsdóttir sent to the remote islands of Elliðaey to discover the truth behind a string of disappearances. It’s dark, atmospheric and claustrophobic – what more could you want from your crime fiction?

One More Lie by Amy Lloyd
4 April
One More Lie, the chilling new thriller by the author of Richard and Judy book club pick The Innocent Wife, paints a portrait of a woman trying to be good – even when she isn’t sure she wants to be. Tense and addictive, this is a book that will stay with you long after you’ve finished the final chapter.

best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019

Sleep by C L Taylor
4 April
Chilling and claustrophobic, Sleep transports us to a remote Scottish island where a murderer at the Bay View hotel turns a retreat into a deadly nightmare. This is one of those compulsive books you’ll want to clear your diary for – you’ll race through it desperate to find out what happens next.

The Scent of Death by Simon Beckett
18 April
What begins as a straightforward case is about to become a twisted nightmare that threatens everyone around forensics expert Dr David Hunter, who returns in this menacing, chilling new crime novel from Simon Beckett. Hugely authentic and atmospheric, this is one tense thriller that will have your nerves in shreds.

A Good Enough Mother by Bev Thomas
4 April
Part psychological suspense novel, part family drama, Bev Thomas’s debut A Good Enough Mother is a dark and gripping story about love, loss and the lies we tell ourselves. It’s an emotional and truly riveting read with real depth that will have you turning the pages long into the night.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019
best books out in april 2019

Have we missed any of the best books out in April? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment