The best books out in August

best books out in August 2018

If your TBR pile is looking a little thin on the ground, we guarantee that this month’s new releases will give you some unmissable new additions. From tense police procedurals to gripping psychological thrillers, August has a bunch of cracking new reads from the likes of Val McDermid, P J Tracy and Belinda Bauer for you to get lost in this summer.

Whether you’re staying at home and enjoying the heatwave or jetting off for even warmer climes, don’t forget to grab one of these fantastic books when you reach for your suncream and hat!

The best books out in August 2018:

best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018

Broken Ground by Val McDermid
23 August
Cold case detective Karen Pirie faces one of her hardest challenges yet in Val McDermid’s gripping, masterful new crime novel. Weaving together different strands seemlessly, this beautifully crafted read will hook you in with its brilliant, authentic characters and strong, atmospheric sense of place.

The Guilty Dead by P J Tracy
23 August
The suicide of a leading local businessman is not all it seems in the new thriller in the bestselling Twin Cities series starring detective duo Gino and Magozzi alongside computer hacker Grace MacBride. With characters you’ll fall in love with and twists and turns throughout, P J Tracy’s new thriller makes for a hugely pacy, gripping read. Read the first chapter here.

The Mystery of Three Quarters by Sophie Hannah
23 August
Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot returns in a clever, stylish new mystery penned by the fantastic Sophie Hannah this month, which sees Poirot’s little grey cells tackling an elaborate puzzle involving a tangled web of relationships, scandalous secrets, and past misdeeds. Full of humour and wit, this is an entertaining top drawer whodunnit that doesn’t disappoint.

best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018

Do Not Disturb by Claire Douglas
9 August
Claire Douglas combines twisted stories ripped from the headlines with emotional drama, resulting in thrillers that tear at the heart while keeping it racing – and Do Not Disturb is no different. When a family escapes London for the remote Welsh mountains, hoping to leave their dark past behind, they soon discover nowhere is safe…

The Liar’s Room by Simon Lelic
9 August
From the author of The House comes a new race-against-time thriller set in one room over four hours, perfect for fans of Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk about Kevin and Erin Kelly’s He Said / She Said. Tense and claustrophobic, The Liar’s Room‘s clever plot and intriguing twists will grab you from the very beginning. Read the first chapter here.

Bad Apple by Zoje Stage
9 August
Fans of Behind Her Eyes, Daughter and Good Me, Bad Me will love this dark, page-turning debut about a perfect-looking family – where sweetness is deceptive. With all the absorbing tension and drama of the very best psychological thrillers and a killer twist, this will have you reading long into the night.

best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018

Redemption by Candice Fox
9 August
Redemption is an atmospheric, absorbing crime thriller from an award-winning writer that will hold you in its grip to the final page. Steeped in tension, the story follows former detective Ted Conkaffey and his unlikely ally private detective Amanda Pharrell on a homicide investigation – while Ted struggles to clear his name and prove he’s not guilty of abducting a young girl. Don’t miss it.

Perfect Silence by Helen Fields
23 August
DI Luc Callanch comes up against a grim, twisted serial killer committing brutal murders in the fourth chilling book in Helen Fields’ series. This is a dark, creepy thriller propelled by a compelling, likeable detective duo you’ll really root for – and once you’ve finished you’ll be desperate for more.

The Katharina Code by Jørn Lier Horst
9 August
Set between the icy streets and dark forests of Norway, The Katharina Code is the story of one man’s consuming obsession with his coldest case and the first book in the Cold Case Quartet series. Drawing on his own experiences as a police investigator, Jørn Lier Horst weaves an authentic, compelling tale perfect for fans of Henning Mankell and Samuel Bjork, and it’s impossible to put down.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018
best books out in August 2018
best books out in august 2018
best books out in august 2018

Have we missed any of the best books out in August? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment

  1. Marcella says

    I highly recommend ‘The Liar’s Room’ by Simon Lelic – a tense page turner!