The best books out in December

best books out in december 2019

December is here which means it’s time to don your favourite festive jumper and cover the house top-to-toe in Christmas lights. During the busy holiday celebrations, nothing beats finding a quiet moment to curl up with a good book and a cup of something mulled. To help you spend your time wisely, we’ve rounded up some of the biggest new releases hitting shelves in the next few weeks.

With so many exciting crime reads to look forward to, including books from Tammy Cohen, Lisa Jewell and Louise Candlish, don’t be surprised to find yourself sneaking away from a family board game or two to read a few more pages.

The best books out in December 2019:

best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019

Gone by Leona Deakin
12 December
Turning the classic missing persons case on its head, this addictive debut plays with the unsettling idea that the victims are the dangerous ones. Full of dark twists and turns, this pacy thriller, penned by a former psychologist with the West Yorkshire police, will deliver an adrenaline rush to keep you reading well into the night. Find out more about the book here.

Stop At Nothing by Tammy Cohen
26 December
How far would you go to get justice for your family? Dealing with every parent’s worst nightmare, this tense, relatable psychological thriller is full of twists and turns that will have you on the edge of your seat. If you love Heidi Perks, C L Taylor and Lisa Jewell, you won’t want to miss this. Read an extract here.

The Assistant by S K Tremayne
26 December
The author of The Ice Twins and The Fire Child returns this month with a brand new psychological thriller that explores the dark side of smart home technology and how it could be used to manipulate and control someone’s life. Creepy and atmospheric, with intrigue and menace that builds and builds, this is a hugely entertaining read.

best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019

Hold Your Tongue by Deborah Masson
26 December
Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Helen Fields, Hold Your Tongue is the first book in an exciting, dark and thoroughly gripping new Scottish detective series featuring DI Eve Hunter – a complex and flawed but relatable character you’ll really root for. It’s intense, gritty and chilling, and we promise you’ll race through it. Read an extract here.

The Cabin by Jorn Lier Horst
12 December
Following The Katharina Code, The Cabin is the second police procedural in the Cold Case Quartet by a former police officer and one of Norway’s biggest crime authors. This instalment sees Chief Inspector William Wisting discover that a murdered politician’s past could endanger future of the entire country. If you couldn’t get enough of Wallander, you should give this a try. Find out more about Wisting here.

Lost by James Patterson and James O Born
26 December
Detective Tom Moon and his team face off against an international crime ring looking to seize control over Miami in James Patterson’s latest standalone thriller. Moon is devoted to his city and its citizens – but will that be enough to save them? Get ready for another brilliantly crafted novel with excellent storytelling, unrelenting tension and a pace that doesn’t let up.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019
best books out in december 2019

Have we missed any of the best books out in December 2019? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.