January’s Hottest New Releases

best books out in january 2018

Got the January blues? Thrown your resolutions out the window already?

Thankfully there’s an assortment of excellent new books just waiting to be plucked off the shelves to help us get through the month. Infiltrate the CIA in an absolute corker of an espionage novel, head back to the 80s in a chilling mystery reminiscent of Stephen King and solve an attempted murder from a hospital bed in the new psychological thriller we can’t stop talking about.

January is set to be crammed full of books that you’ll want to recommend to your friends straight away, so find an excuse to sit down and lose yourself in one of these new releases.

The best books out in January:

best books out in january 2018
best books out in january 2018
best books out in january 2018

Need to Know by Karen Cleveland
25 January
The Couple Next Door meets Homeland in Need to Know, a novel that blends spy thriller and domestic drama perfectly. Penned by a former CIA analyst, the story oozes with an authenticity that sets this book apart from the rest – and with Charlize Theron set to produce and star in the movie adaptation, this is one you’ll hear about a lot in the coming months. Take a first look here.

The Gathering Dark by James Oswald
25 January
A horrific accident unearths a dangerous conspiracy in the latest gripping instalment of the bestselling Inspector McLean series. Incredibly dark, brilliantly plotted and hugely compelling, this is a first rate crime thriller perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride and Ann Cleeves. Meet James Oswald’s detective here.

If I Die Before I Wake by Emily Koch
11 January
Emily Koch’s suspenseful psychological thriller that sees Alex, a man with locked-in syndrome, try to solve his own attempted murder from the confines of his hospital bed. It’s a beautifully-crafted, thought-provoking mystery that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page. Find out more about Emily’s inspiration for the book here.

best books out in january 2018
best books out in january 2018
best books out in january 2018

The Chalk Man by C J Tudor
11 January
Childhood games, sinister chalk figures, a tragic accident and a gruesome murder. Reminiscent of The Body, this is a dark, atmospheric small-town crime novel with an exceptionally creepy premise and well-drawn characters. Find out how a life-long love of thriller master Stephen King influenced C J Tudor.

Deep Blue Trouble by Steph Broadribb
5 January
Fearless bounty hunter Lori Anderson is back this month in Steph Broadribb’s pacy follow-up to Deep Down Dead. Steph combines a tense, action-packed plot with three-dimensional characters you really care about to create a hugely original edge-of-your-seat thriller you won’t forget in a hurry.

Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan
11 January
This engrossing, compulsive, miss-your-stop courtroom drama is the book fans of Apple Tree Yard have been waiting for. Timely and tense, Anatomy of a Scandal has a depth that will leave you resentful whenever you have to put it down and return to the real world. If you liked Liar or The Good Wife, you’ll love this.

best books out in january 2018
best books out in january 2018
best books out in january 2018

Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister
25 January
Gone Girl meets Sliding Doors in Gillian McAllister’s second novel, Anything You Do Say – an intriguing story that will make you question what you would do in the same situation. It’s a well-crafted, clever edge-of-your-seat thriller that’s genuinely impossible to put down. Read the first chapter here.

The Confession by Jo Spain
25 January
The Confession reveals who did it on the very first page – and on the last, you’ll find out why. This is the first psychological thriller by Jo Spain, author of the DI Tom Reynolds mysteries, and it’s as dark and twisty as they come. Exploring themes of corruption, greed, guilt and betrayal, it’ll hook you in from the start and refuse to let you go.

Perfect Death by Helen Fields
25 January
DI Luc Callanach is on the case when a serial killer strikes, sending shockwaves through Edinburgh. This chilling read shows us both sides of the story, taking us inside the mind of the perpetrator and exploring their desires and motivations. The short, snappy chapters will have you racing through this roller coaster police procedural.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in January 2018
best books out in January 2018
best books out in January 2018
best books out in january 2018
best books out in january 2018
best books out in January 2018
best books out in January 2018
best books out in january 2018

There’s our pick of the best books out in January! Which will you be picking up?

mm

The home of killer books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment

  1. Margaret Baumber says

    Have just read, in one go, Perfect Death by brilliant writer, Helen Fields. If you have not found these books yet and you like crime,
    a very mixed up detective and superb character’s these are for you.
    5 stars.

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.