The best books out in January

best books out in january 2019

With the festive season over for another year and Blue Monday just a few weeks away, January can often leave us feeling a bit gloomy. On the plus side, the start of the new year can also be the perfect time to start afresh, providing a great excuse to restock our bookshelves with exciting new crime novels.

This month promises another compelling thriller from Fiona Barton, a brand new Arne Dahl book and some cracking debuts – not to mention a handful of brilliant paperbacks. Which titles will be making it onto your ‘to read’ pile?

The best books out in January 2019:

best books out in January 2019
best books out in January
best books out in January 2019

The Suspect by Fiona Barton
24 January
Unforgettable journalist Kate Waters – last seen in The Widow and The Child – is back, investigating every parent’s worst nightmare: the disappearance of two teenagers on their gap year. This is a thriller with real heart and plenty of intrigue that is guaranteed to keep you guessing.

My Name is Anna by Lizzy Barber
10 January
From the winner of the Daily Mail crime writing competition comes a suspenseful debut psychological thriller about a young woman’s quest to uncover her real identity. Gripping and fast-paced, you’ll race through this emotional, compelling read, desperate to find out the truth. Read the first two chapters here.

The Chestnut Man by Soren Sveistrup
10 January
This nail-biting debut from the creator of the hit crime drama The Killing is a stylish and atmospheric thriller that follows the race to find a serial killer terrorizing Copenhagen. With unrelenting tension, flesh and blood characters and atmospheric setting, this is one not to miss this month.

best books out in January 2019
best books out in January 2019
best books out in January 2019

The Last by Hanna Jameson
31 January
If you’re looking for something a little different, The Last is the book for you. It’s the end of the world, and twenty survivors are holed up in a hotel – and if things weren’t bad enough already, there’s a killer among them. And Then There Were None meets Station Eleven in this high-concept dystopian page turner, inspired by a terrifyingly real unsolved mystery.

Hunted by Arne Dahl
10 January
Perfect for fans of Samuel Bjork, Erik Axl Sund and Jo Nesbo, Hunted is the second thrilling book in Arne Dahl’s brilliant series featuring private investigator Sam Berger. Set in the snowy tundra of rural Sweden, this is a dark, gripping novel with a pace that doesn’t let up. We can’t recommend it enough.

Red Snow by Will Dean
10 January
The eagerly awaited follow-up to Zoe Ball book club pick Dark Pines finally hits shelves this month – and fans of the first Tuva Moodyson mystery sure won’t be disappointed. Chilling, claustrophobic and wonderfully crafted, Red Snow is definitely one of those books you’ll want to savour.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in January 2019
best books out in january 2019
best books out in January 2019
best books out in January 2019
best books out in January 2019
best books out in January 2019
best books out in January 2019
best books out in January 2019
best books out in january 2019

Have we missed any of the best books out in January? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment

  1. Sandra "Jeanz" says

    Liking the sound of The Last by Hanna Jameson. As for immediate curiosity upon seeing the cover I would have to single out Bad Apple by Zoje Stage.
    Definitely adding The Last by Hanna Janeson to my want to read & review wishlist!