The best books out in July

best books out in July 2019

The clouds have broken and the warmer weather is finally here. With July’s long, bright evenings ahead, we’ve rounded up more than enough exciting new releases to help keep you busy in the sunshine.

Later this month Harry Hole faces a deadly foe in the new thriller from Jo Nesbo, while The Couple Next Door author Shari Lapena is back with another tense psychological thriller and Heidi Perks returns with a claustrophobic small town mystery you won’t want to miss.

We’ve brought the recommendations, now all you need to do is grab your sunglasses and find a nice sunny spot in the park!

The best books out in July 2019:

best books out in july 2019
best books out in July 2019
best books out in july 2019

Knife by Jo Nesbo
11 July
Jo Nesbo’s brand new thriller sees Harry Hole come face to face with a deadly foe – the first killer he ever put behind bars – in one of his darkest, most personal cases yet. Gritty and shocking, everyone is a suspect in this perfectly crafted tale that will keep you guessing with twists and turns aplenty.

Someone We Know by Shari Lapena
25 July
Shari Lapena takes us behind closed doors in Someone We Know, shedding light on the darkness and danger that lies in our neighbourhoods and closest relationships with her expert plotting, whistlestop pace and corkscrew turns. If you loved The Couple Next Door and A Stranger in the House, you won’t want to miss this.

Come Back For Me by Heidi Perks
11 July
When a body is found in the garden of her childhood home, Stella must question the reason her parents left with no explanation all those years ago. In this claustrophobic small town mystery, Now You See Her author Heidi Perks weaves together both past and present to tell a gripping, slow-burning story of family secrets. Read an extract here.

best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019

The Sleepwalker by Joseph Knox
11 July
The last words of a dying serial killer send Detective Aiden Waits on a journey into the heart of darkness in Joseph Knox’s latest novel. It’s a complex, gritty, twisted read that doesn’t fail to impress and confirms that this is one crime series that just gets better and better with each book. Read an extract here.

The Chain by Adrian McKinty
9 July
Brilliantly paced, with an intriguing, original premise, this is a gripping new thriller that already has everyone talking. Packed with nail-biting tension from start to finish, it’s a hugely entertaining read that you won’t be able to put down – so get ready to be glued to the very edge of your seat.

A Nearly Normal Family by M T Edvardsson
11 July
How well do you know your own children? And how far would you go to protect them? These are the questions A Nearly Normal Family asks when 18-year-old Stella is accused of murder and her parents are forced to question everything. Part legal thriller, part family drama, the tension builds on every page of this compulsive slow burner.

best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
25 July
You’ve been offered a luxury apartment, rent free. The catch: you may not live long enough to enjoy it, because the building is hiding a dark, dark past. Perfect for fans of Jessica Knoll and Megan Abbott, Riley Sager’s brand new thriller is as creepy, unsettling and addictive as they come.

On My Life by Angela Clarke
11 July
This compelling, thought-provoking book follows Jenna, a woman accused of murdering her step-daughter, as she fights to clear her name and protect her unborn baby from inside prison. With a claustrophobic tension that builds and builds and a pace that doesn’t let up, this is one race-against-time thriller that will keep you turning the pages long into the night.

Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman
25 July
Transport yourself to 1960s Baltimore in the new release from the author of Sunburn, where an aspiring reporter tries to uncover a story that will finally launch her career – only to find that telling the story will come with a price. Clever, subtle and suspenseful, this is a well-written mystery with shades of classic noir.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019
best books out in july 2019

Have we missed any of the best books out in July 2019? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.