The best books out in July

best books out in july 2018

Never before have we enjoyed such consistently sunny climes, with these long, hot summer days providing the perfect excuse to sit back with a chilled lemonade and some excellent summer reads.

Whether you’re after an unputdownable page turner, a gripping new detective novel or a suspenseful debut to get your teeth into, look no further than our pick of the best books hitting the shelves this month. Grab your summer reading list and get set to add a whole stack of top-class new releases just in time for your holidays.

The best books out in July 2018:

best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018

An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena
26 July
A perfect getaway to a beautiful, remote hotel turns deadly in this claustrophobic, pulse-pounding and unputdownable thriller from the author of The Couple Next Door and A Stranger in the House. Reminiscent of Agatha Christie, this is a hugely clever mystery with a compelling plot, perfect pacing and simmering tension. Don’t miss it.

Watching You by Lisa Jewell
12 July
Then She Was Gone author Lisa Jewell’s new psychological suspense thriller explores what happens when an innocent crush develops into a dangerous, deadly infatuation. Family secrets, illicit passion, and an unexplained murder lie at the heart of this wonderful page turner. What more could you want from a gripping summer read? Read the first chapter here.

Day of the Dead by Nicci French
12 July
It’s the eighth and final day of Frieda Klein’s dark and dangerous week. The final thriller in this gripping cat-and-mouse series sees Frieda come head to head with her obsessive, psychopathic nemesis Dean Reeve, and we promise it’ll send you on an absolutely unforgettable roller coaster of a ride. Read the first chapter here.

best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018

In the Dark by Cara Hunter
12 July
Do you know what they’re hiding in the house next door? DI Adam Fawley is on the case when a woman and a child are discovered in a basement in a quiet Oxford street, sending shockwaves through the community. Fans of Richard and Judy book club pick Close to Home won’t want to miss this follow up when it hits shelves this month. Read the first chapter here.

Sticks and Stones by Jo Jakeman
12 July
Imogen’s husband is a bad man. In a moment of madness, she does something unthinkable: she locks him in the cellar. The characters shine in this deliciously twisty and darkly funny psychological thriller about relationships, revenge and unlikely friendships. It’s the definition of a page turner and you won’t be able to put it down. Read the first chapter here.

Believe Me by J P Delaney
26 July
From the author of last year’s runaway bestseller The Girl Before comes Believe Me, a psychological thriller that will have you second, third and fourth guessing yourself. With an incredibly intriguing premise and a plot full of twists and turns, this is one dark, addictive read where nothing is what it seems.

best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018

Open Your Eyes by Paula Daly
26 July
Paula Daly takes the everyday that we all know so well and pushes it to the limit, making us question what we would do if in the same situation. Open Your Eyes is no different. It’s an emotionally gripping domestic thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat, racing to discover the truth. We can’t recommend it highly enough.

Careless Love by Peter Robinson
26 July
DCI Banks is back in Peter Robinson’s latest gripping offering which sees the team investigating two suspicious deaths, and the return of an old enemy – one who will stop at nothing, not even murder, to get what he wants. This is the twenty-fifth book in the series, and we promise they just keep getting better and better.

Dead Man’s Gift and Other Stories by Simon Kernick
26 July
If you love Simon Kernick’s action-packed race-against-time thrillers then you’re in luck, as July sees the release of five of his novellas and short stories in physical edition for the first time. These bite-sized edge-of-your-seat reads make for perfect holiday reading and a great introduction to anyone who hasn’t discovered Simon’s work before.

best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018

The Break Line by James Brabazon
26 July
Fans of Gregg Hurwitz, Frank Gardner and Andy McNab will love The Break Line, the compelling, suspenseful debut by award-winning frontline journalist and documentary filmmaker James Brabazon. Bold, smart and fast-paced, this action-packed thriller will suck you into an authentic world of secrets and spies.

Now You See Her by Heidi Perks
26 July
Now You See Her is a compulsive, page-turning psychological thriller that explores what happens when you are responsible for making your best friend’s worst nightmare come true. Focusing on female friendships, trust and lies, this chilling tale is perfect for fans of Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door and Lisa Jewell’s Then She Was Gone. Read the first chapter here.

Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager
12 July
This multi-layered, creepy psychological thriller about truth, lies, guilt and innocence will have you hooked from the very beginning. It’s a hugely entertaining, unputdownable read from an expert storyteller, and it’ll have you turning the pages long into the night. Read the first chapter here.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018
best books out in july 2018

Have we missed any of the best books out in July? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.