The best books out in June

best books out in June 2019

Jetting off to warmer climes or staying somewhere closer to home? Our pick of June’s biggest and best releases will keep you busy wherever you are.

With brilliant reads hitting our shelves from the likes of Jane Corry, Kate Atkinson and Karin Slaughter, it’s going to be difficult to know where to begin – but if the weather keeps up, we’ll have no problem devouring this month’s cracking crime thrillers while we soak up some sunshine and sip on a refreshing drink or two. Who’s with us?

The best books out in June 2019:

best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019

Big Sky by Kate Atkinson
18 June
We’re in for a real treat this month as our hero Jackson Brodie returns in Kate Atkinson’s hugely anticipated new book – the first to feature the private investigator in nine years. Kate’s crime novels are witty, clever, brilliantly plotted and wonderfully written, and Blue Sky is guaranteed to be one we’ll be pushing into the hands of everyone we know.

I Looked Away by Jane Corry
27 June
What first seems like an accident starts to look like murder in the compelling new thriller by Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife and Blood Sisters. This is one of those books you’ll really struggle to put down as you find yourself desperate to uncover what happens next. We think it’s her best yet.

The Whisper Man by Alex North
13 June
When a father and son move to a small, sleepy town, they could never suspect that it would bring them straight into the path of a serial killer. If you love C J Tudor and Thomas Harris, you’ll find this incredibly creepy psychological thriller as gripping as they come. Read a chapter from the book here.

best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019

Keep You Close by Karen Cleveland
27 June
What would you do if you realised your own son could be dangerous? That’s the dilemma FBI agent Steph Maddox faces in Keep You Close, the new thriller by the author of Need To Know. Fast-paced and suspenseful, this is a page turner full of twists and turns you won’t see coming.

The Perfect Betrayal by Lauren North
27 June
Fans of B A Paris, Clare Mackintosh and Lisa Jewell will absolutely love this dark, emotionally engaging psychological suspense novel that asks: who can you trust in your darkest moment? Delving into themes of grief and friendship, this is a book that explores what happens when people are pushed to their limits. Read a chapter here.

Those People by Louise Candlish
27 June
Packed full of characters you’ll love to hate, Those People transports us to a neighbourhood from hell, where high tensions and toxic atmosphere lead to murder. This is a slow burner of a mystery that delves beneath the surface of the domestic dream to reveal that everyone has something to hide.

best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019

One Way Out by A A Dhand
27 June
There’s another edge-of-your-seat race-against-time thriller from A A Dhand heading our way this month, and we can’t wait. Exploring a darker side of Bradford, the DI Harry Virdee books are tense, complex and gritty, with a modern edge and real heart that set them apart from the rest.

The Last Widow by Karin Slaughter
13 June
Special Agent Will Trent and Medical Examiner Sara Linton are back in this twisty, shocking thriller, investigating a group of domestic terrorists that threatens to destroy thousands of innocent lives. Karin combines a plot so tense it’ll grip you from start to finish with characters you’ll really root for, creating a truly unmissable read.

Lost You by Haylen Beck
27 June
If you loved the roller coaster ride of a read Here and Gone, you won’t want to miss Haylen Beck’s brand new novel this month. Lost You is a thrilling, emotional story about one woman’s desperate search for her missing son, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Cara Hunter and Shari Lapena.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019
best books out in june 2019

Have we missed any of the best books out in June 2019? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.