March’s Hottest New Releases

march releases

March brings us one step closer to spring which means relaxing in the garden with a refreshing lemonade and a stack of new crime books – what else could make us happier?!

This month we have a wonderful variety of new releases to choose from – everything from translated thrillers to classic crime with a contemporary twist – so March is looking sunnier already. How many of these books are on your reading pile?

The best books out in March:

best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March

The Long Drop by Denise Mina – 2 March
Denise Mina’s gripping, atmospheric new literary thriller takes its inspiration from the story of Peter Manuel, a real-life serial killer in 1950s Glasgow, and a deeply unsettling night he spent with the husband and father of two of his victims before his arrest. It’s an unsettling, chilling tale of guilt, innocence and the power of a good story to hide the difference. Read the first chapter here.

A Dangerous Crossing by Rachel Rhys – 23 March
Written in the tradition of classic crime but with a contemporary twist, this is the brilliant new novel by Rachel Rhys – the new pen name of Tammy Cohen – which tells the story of a young woman’s journey on a glamorous cruise liner. By the time the ship docks, two passengers are dead, war has been declared, and life will never be the same again.

Quieter than Killing by Sarah Hilary – 9 March
DI Marnie Rome is back this month in the fourth crime novel by Sarah Hilary – one which sees Marnie and Noah pulled onto the streets of London to investigate a series of seemingly random assaults. With characters you’ll really care about and complex, intricate plotting, this series just keeps getting better and better.

best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March

Butterfly on the Storm by Walter Lucius – 30 March
This fast-paced thriller is the first instalment in Dutch author Walter Lucius’s Heartland Trilogy and sees a seemingly ordinary hit-and-run lead to the unravelling of a world of child trafficking and power abuse. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson, it tells a tale of lost loves and ideals and introduces a brilliant new voice in European crime fiction.

Let the Dead Speak by Jane Casey – 9 March
If you love Jane Casey’s Detective Maeve Kerrigan novels as much as we do then you’re in luck this month as Let the Dead Speak, the seventh book in the series, is released. Compelling writing, dark humour and impeccable characterisation make this instalment a must read – we can’t recommend it enough.

Everything But the Truth by Gillian McAllister – 9 March
Gillian McAllister’s debut is a gripping and emotional novel about deceit, betrayal and one woman’s need to discover the truth, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Clare Mackintosh. Packed with shocking twists, it’s one of those books you’ll be desperate to talk about once you’ve finished and will press into the hands of all your friends.

best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March

The Legacy by Yrsa Sigurdardottir – 23 March
The Legacy is the first book in an exciting new series from one of our favourite Scandinavian crime writers. Complex and brilliantly crafted, this dark mystery concerns a grisly murder that was witnessed by a traumatised young girl. With the help of psychologist Freyja of the Children’s House, Detective Huldar must crack the code and catch the killer.

Bryant & May: Wild Chamber by Christopher Fowler – 23 March
We adore Christopher Fowler’s Bryant and May series, so we can’t wait to treat ourselves to more murder and mayhem this month when Wild Chamber hits the shelves. These books are clever, inventive and wonderfully original – and we simply can’t get enough of them. Prepare to be enchanted.

Tattletale by Sarah J Naughton – 23 March
Sarah Naughton’s first adult thriller is a truly gripping read perfect for fans of domestic suspense. The characters are well-drawn and the plot is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the very end. You won’t be able to put it down – so sit back and enjoy the rollercoaster ride.

best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March

16th Seduction by James Patterson – 9 March
Detective Lindsay Boxer faces a deadly conspiracy in this, the heart-stopping new Women’s Murder Club thriller. It’s a truly action-packed, exhilarating novel that you won’t be able to put down, and a must-read from a master crime writer. If you’re yet to discover this series, you’re in for a huge treat. Read the first two chapters here.

Say Nothing by Brad Parks – 2 March
Say Nothing is a powerful, tense UK debut – the sort of book that grabs you and refuses to let go. A legal thriller injected with a dose of domestic suspense, it follows the story of a Judge and his wife who are plunged into unimaginable horror when their children are taken hostage to ensure the Judge’s silence in an upcoming case.

The Escape by C L Taylor – 23 March
This is a fast, pacy read that you’ll race through at breakneck speed. When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift, she says yes, then immediately wishes she hadn’t – because the stranger knows her name, her husband and has a glove belonging to her two-year-old daughter. Gripping from the very first page.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March
best books out in March
mm

The home of killer books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.