The best books out in March

best books out in march 2019

Even though the start of the year feels just a few short weeks behind us, we somehow find ourselves entering March and the start of spring. But before we panic that we’re two months down, there are plenty of reasons to get excited for the month ahead. With an extra hour of sunlight on our hands, we can get back to reading with the curtains drawn wide and bury the creeping sense of dread we feel while reading our favourite chilling thriller in the dark.

This month, you can expect a gripping new standalone from the bestselling author of the DI Helen Grace series, a brand new page turner from Harlan Coben and some exciting debuts for good measure! There’s no doubt about it: March is set to be a good one.

The best books out in March 2019:

best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march

A Gift for Dying by M J Arlidge
7 March
If you’ve never read an M J Arlidge thriller before then this is the perfect time to start, as his first standalone novel hits shelves this month. A Gift for Dying is a tense, gripping read featuring Arlidge’s trademark pace and short, snappy chapters that propel the plot though to a shocking ending you won’t see coming.

Run Away by Harlan Coben
21 March
Master storyteller Harlan Coben is back with a gripping, unputdownable new suspense thriller that will see you turning the pages long into the night. With a brilliant cast of characters and twists and turns that will keep you guessing, this intriguing mystery should be at the top of your reading list.

Freefall by Jessica Barry
7 March
Freefall is a psychological suspense novel that follows a mother and daughter as they fight to find their way through a dark web of lies and back to one another before it’s too late. This is an addictive and emotionally charged thriller that will stay with you long after you’ve finished it. Read an extract from the book here.

best books out in March
best books out in march
best books out in march

The Boy in the Headlights by Samuel Bjork
21 March
How do you stop a murderer when you can’t predict their next move? Special Investigations Detectives Munch and Krüger face the ultimate challenge in Samuel Bjork’s new thriller, as a serial killer is choosing his victims at random. Clever and gripping, with plenty of twists and turns, The Boy in the Headlights is a chilling tale that Jo Nesbo readers will love.

She Lies in Wait by Gytha Lodge
21 March
DCI Jonah Sheens untangles a web of long-buried secrets in this debut novel and the first book in an exciting new detective series perfect for fans of Jane Harper, Ruth Ware and Tana French. It’s an intricately plotted page turner full of characters you’ll really root for, and we already can’t wait for the next instalment.

Before She Knew Him by Peter Swanson
7 March
From the author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a dark, creepy new psychological thriller about a woman who believes her neighbour is a killer. Perfectly crafted, with excellent writing and a clever plot, Before She Knew Him is a wonderfully absorbing, engrossing book that will make you look twice at the people who live next door.

best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march

Too Close by Natalie Daniels
7 March
How close is too close? Fast-paced and brilliantly plotted, this twisting, addictive tale of obsession, love and betrayal explores what happens when close friendships turn toxic. It’s the perfect read for fans of Emma Curtis and Paula Daly. Find out more about the inspiration for the book here.

18th Abduction by James Patterson
7 March
When three teachers disappear without a trace, Sergeant Lindsay Boxer takes the lead in the investigation – but with no clues and no suspects, the odds of finding the women alive are getting slimmer by the second. Action-packed, with a pace that doesn’t let up, James Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club series never disappoints.

The Scandal by Mari Hannah
7 March
DCI Stone and DS Oliver have their third outing in Mari Hannah’s brand new police procedural, where there’s more to the case than first meets the eye. Mari’s books, with their wonderful characters, strong sense of place and authentic writing, are always a delight to read – and we’re certain The Scandal will be no exception.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march

Have we missed any of the best books out in March? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.