The best books out in May

best books out in may 2018

For many of us April was yet another dreary month of grey skies and rain, but with any luck May won’t be all doom and gloom – particularly with so many wonderful new releases to help you while away the hours until summer finally arrives.

Are you a lifelong James Bond superfan? Perhaps you’re drawn to tales of toxic, obsessive love or mysterious missing persons cases? Whatever it is that compels you to pick up your next thrilling read, these new books won’t let you down – and if you prefer to travel light, Paula Hawkins’ Into the Water, John le Carré’s A Legacy of Spies and Harlan Coben’s Don’t Let Go are all perfect for your paperback needs.

The best books out in May 2018:

best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018

Forever and a Day by Anthony Horowitz
31 May
A spy is dead. A legend is born. Forever and a Day is the thrilling new prequel to Casino Royale, the first of Ian Fleming’s Bond novels, and explores the origin story of the iconic 007, taking us back to where it all began. Drawing on original never-before-seen source material, Anthony Horowitz has created a fast-paced, unmissable page turner that’s impossible to put down. Find out more about the book here.

Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall
3 May
In Our Kind of Cruelty, the relationship may be over but the game has just begun – a game of passion, obsession and murder. This dark, twisted psychological suspense novel is as claustrophobic and compelling as they come, exploring the lengths people will go to for those they love – even if they don’t love them back.

You Were Gone by Tim Weaver
17 May
You Were Gone sees missing persons investigator David Raker is confronted with a case that threatens to destroy him – the appearance of a woman claiming to be his dead wife. Tim’s books have everything you could want in a good crime thriller: they’re clever, original and hugely gripping, with a protagonist you really root for – and once you’ve read one you’ll be desperate to read them all. Read the first chapter here.

best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018

Ultimatum by Frank Gardner
31 May
SIS officer Luke Carlton returns in this action-packed, authentic new thriller by BBC Security Correspondent Frank Gardner, who showcases his in-depth knowledge and wealth of experience covering international security matters once again. When a senior government minister is kidnapped while on an official visit to Iran, it’s up to Luke to head off what could lead to a catastrophic confrontation in the Gulf.

Dead If You Don’t by Peter James
17 May
Roy Grace is faced with his deadliest case yet in Peter James’ brand new book, where a seemingly straightforward case of kidnap sees Grace entering a dark, criminal underbelly of the city, where the rules are different and nothing is what it seems. Tense, twisty and impeccably researched, Dead If You Don’t pulls you in right from the beginning with its perfect blend of police procedural and action thriller.

The House Swap by Rebecca Fleet
3 May
The House Swap is Rebecca Fleet’s unputdownable first novel, and a book that will definitely make you think twice about who you let into your home. With a chilling, eerie premise and a plot riddled with twists and turns, you’ll find yourself desperate to discover what happens next. Read a chapter here.

best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018

Star of the North by D B John
10 May
This explosive debut spy thriller transports us to North Korea, where the CIA recruits a young American woman to uncover the truth about her twin sister’s disappearance from a South Korean island. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Mick Herron and Terry Hayes, this brilliantly crafted page-turner gives us a terrifyingly authentic glimpse into one of the world’s most closely guarded nations. Read an extract here.

The House on Half Moon Street by Alex Reeve
3 May
The House on Half Moon Street is an incredibly atmospheric, character-led start to a new historical mystery series set in Victorian London with a transgender protagonist who has to investigate the murder of the woman he loves without revealing his birth identity. It’s a dark, gripping read from a refreshing new voice in crime fiction, and we can’t recommend it enough.

Cross Her Heart by Sarah Pinborough
17 May
Fans of Sarah Pinborough’s debut Behind Her Eyes won’t want to miss the pacy, addictive follow-up when it hits shelves this month. Cross Her Heart introduces us to three women – Lisa, Ava and Marilyn – all of whom are keeping secrets that threaten to change their lives forever. Packed with twists and turns, this page turner will take you on a rollercoaster ride and leave you guessing. Don’t miss it.

best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018

Snap by Belinda Bauer
17 May
This tense, atmospheric slow burner by Belinda Bauer, author of The Beautiful Dead, is beautifully crafted with brilliantly drawn characters you’ll come to know and love. Belinda has weaved together a suspenseful tale that builds and builds until the final dramatic conclusion – and we promise it’ll have you on the edge of your seat. Read an extract here.

The Brighton Mermaid by Dorothy Koomson
17 May
Dorothy Koomson’s suspenseful new book explores what happens when those closest to you are hiding deadly secrets. Switching between the past and the present day, we follow Nell as she tries to solve a 25-year-old mystery – but as she edges closer to the truth, dangerous things start to happen. Someone seems to be watching her every move, and soon she starts to wonder who in her life she can actually trust.

Guess Who? by Chris McGeorge
3 May
If you love a good locked room mystery, this thriller, where one man has just three hours to solve a murder in a hotel room surrounded by all the suspects, is for you. It’s a highly claustrophobic novel that ratchets ups the tension at a breakneck pace, leaving you desperate to find the solution. You’ll race through it.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in may 2018
best books out in May 2018
best books out in May 2018
best books out in may 2018

Have we missed any of the best books out in May? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.