The best books out in November

best books out in November 2018

Things to look forward to this November: Bonfire Night, the return of outdoor Christmas lights, an excuse to wear all your favourite knitted jumpers on repeat and, of course, plenty of new releases to sink your teeth into.

Our favourite lone ranger returns in a highly anticipated new novel from Lee Child, Anthony Horowitz delivers another cracking mystery for us to devour and newcomer Lisa Gabriele brings us a contemporary take on du Maurier’s Rebecca that will leave you breathless.

If that whets your appetite, check out more of this month’s new releases below along with a whole hoard of beautiful paperbacks to add to your bookshelf!

The best books out in November 2018:

best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November

Past Tense by Lee Child
5 November
Is there any bigger treat than a new Lee Child book? Get ready for an absolute ticking-time-bomb of an adventure as we follow our hero Jack Reacher on a quest into his father’s past. With tension that builds and builds to the final, explosive ending, this is a thriller that does not disappoint. Read the first three chapters here.

The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths
1 November
Elly Griffiths’s beautifully atmospheric new novel is perfect for the long, chilly nights. Reminiscent of M R James and Wilkie Collins, this standalone is a contemporary Gothic thriller and a clever whodunit, full of suspense and intrigue, great characters and a strong, evocative sense of place.

The Sentence is Death by Anthony Horowitz
1 November
Passion, deception, an unexplained death and a detective with a lot to hide lie at the heart of Anthony Horowitz’s brilliant new murder mystery, the second in the bestselling series starring Private Investigator Daniel Hawthorne. Clever, witty and hugely entertaining, Anthony Horowitz’s new mystery is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the very end.

best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November

The Winters by Lisa Gabriele
15 November
Inspired by du Maurier’s classic Rebecca, The Winters is a suspenseful new novel about secrets that refuse to remain buried and consequences that cannot be escaped. Twisty and addictive, with a glamorous, aspirational setting and clever, contemporary twists, this debut is perfect for fans of B A Paris, J P Delaney and Liane Moriarty.

Skin Deep by Liz Nugent
15 November
Liz Nugent’s thrillers are renowned for their brilliantly dark, twisted characters – and her deliciously sinister new novel is no different. It’s a chilling, atmospheric and wonderfully crafted story about obsession, manipulation and murder that we can’t recommend enough. Read the opening of the book here.

Your Closest Friend by Karen Perry
29 November
Your Closest Friend is a dark and disturbing psychological thriller that explores the consequences of trusting a stranger with your secrets. Get ready for a page-turning tale of lies, stalking and misplaced trust that will hook you in with its breakneck pace and won’t let go until the final page.

best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November

We Can See You by Simon Kernick
29 November
Sometimes the most perfect of lives can hide dark, long-buried secrets – and in We Can See You, the past sure comes back with a vengeance. Simon Kernick’s brand new action-packed, adrenaline-fulled thriller will leave you turning the pages long into the night, desperate to find out what happens.

The Insider by Mari Hannah
1 November
DCI David Stone and DS Frankie Oliver of the Northumbrian police return for their second outing in The Insider – this time investigating a series of seemingly unlinked murders. This is a cracking police prodedural from an author who keeps getting better and better with every book. We promise you won’t be disappointed.

And So It Begins by Rachel Abbott
15 November
This dark, unputdownable blend of psychological thriller, police procedural and courtroom drama makes for a truly gripping, twisty read. Prepare to be led up the garden path by a cast of flawed, unreliable characters who are far from what they seem – and for an ending you won’t see coming.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November
best books out in November

Have we missed any of the best books out in November? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.