The best books out in November

best books out in November 2019

Fireworks, Christmas markets and crisp morning walks are some of the reasons why November is the perfect time of year to throw on some extra layers and venture outside. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of reasons to stay wrapped up warm indoors.

For a start, Simon Kernick returns this month with a brand new edge-of-your-seat thriller, plus James Patterson brings his top detective Alex Cross back in another fast-paced read. If that wasn’t enough to tempt you into a duvet day, you can also expect exciting releases from the likes of Abir Mukherjee and Ian Rankin.

Here’s our pick of the best books out in November.

The best books out in November 2019:

best books out in november 2019
best books out in november 2019
best books out in november 2019

Die Alone by Simon Kernick
28 November
Alastair has it all – wealth, looks, a beautiful family and a real chance of becoming Prime Minister. He’s also a serial killer – and there are only two people who can stop him. Simon Kernick’s new edge-of-your-seat race-against-time thriller sees fan favourites Ray Mason and Tina Boyd join forces once again. The result? An absolute roller coaster of a ride. Read a chapter here.

Death in the East by Abir Mukherjee
14 November
Calcutta police detective Captain Sam Wyndham and his quick-witted Sergeant, Surrender-not Banerjee, are back for another rip-roaring historical crime novel set in 1920s India. This is a wonderfully written locked room mystery that will keep you guessing, and if you’re yet to discover the series you’re in for a real treat. Read an extract here.

Come A Little Closer by Karen Perry
28 November
Set in Dublin, this twisty new psychological thriller from Karen Perry, author of Girl Unknown and Your Closest Friend, sees a convicted murderer draw a young woman into his web. Chilling, sinister and packed with tension, this is one page turner that will have you hooked from page one. Fans of Sophie Hannah and Ruth Ware won’t want to miss it.

best books out in november 2019
best books out in november 2019
best books out in November 2019

Criss Cross by James Patterson
14 November
Alex Cross must confront a criminal from his past before his master plan to frame him succeeds in Criss Cross, the latest thriller in James Patterson’s bestselling series. If you’re looking for a fast-paced, intense and brilliantly crafted read to curl up with this month, this is the book for you. Take a look at the Alex Cross series here.

Unknown Male by Nicolas Obregon
28 November
Unknown Male follows Inspector Iwata as he returns to Japan after ten years to confront the ghosts of his past and catch a dangerous killer. Perfect for fans of Joseph Knox and Michael Connelly, this is crime fiction at its darkest and most atmospheric, bringing its setting of Tokyo to life beautifully. Find out more about Nicolas Obregon’s series detective here.

Westwind by Ian Rankin
14 November
Out of print for nearly 30 years, Ian Rankin’s ‘lost’ cat-and-mouse thriller finally returns to shelves this month. It’s a tale of spies, satellites and a global conspiracy of sinister surveillance, and is guaranteed to be as gripping and suspenseful as they come. We can’t wait to get our hands on it.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

new crime fiction
new crime fiction
new crime fiction
new crime fiction

Have we missed any of the best books out in November 2019? Let us know in the comments below…

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.