The best books out in October

best books out in October 2018

Ah, autumn. The leaves are turning brown, the mornings are crisp and chilly and the brand new books are out in force – just in time for the longer nights.

With the return of John Rebus and a new Simon Serrailler instalment to look forward to, October offers the perfect opportunity to return to two award-winning crime series – or if you’re looking to discover something new, why not try a gripping new conspiracy thriller by an anonymous author, or a tense, authentic courtroom drama by a practising lawyer?

Whatever you choose to read this month, one thing is for sure – you’ll be spoiled for choice!

The best books out in October 2018:

best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018

The Comforts of Home by Susan Hill
4 October
Susan Hill’s million-copy selling crime series returns with the long-awaited The Comforts of Home this month. In this gripping new Serrailler thriller, Simon’s personal and professional lives intertwine in more complex and demanding ways than ever before. We can’t recommend this unbelievably thrilling mystery enough. Read an extract from the book here.

In A House of Lies by Ian Rankin
4 October
Rebus is back – and though he might be retired, he’s far from finished as he gets caught up in a case that will dredge up the secrets of the past and disrupt an even murkier present. While Rebus himself may be in physical decline, this Edinburgh-set series continues to go from strength to strength. The latest addition is pacy and wonderfully crafted, with plenty of intrigue and excellent characterisation.

The Kingfisher Secret by Anonymous
18 October
Her codename is Kingfisher. Her mission: to seduce and marry the most powerful man in the world. Spies, murder and a dark conspiracy lie at the heart of this incredibly fast-paced, action-packed international thriller that fans of Terry Hayes’ I Am Pilgrim and Jason Matthews’ Red Sparrow won’t want to miss.

best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018

Dark Sacred Night by Michael Connelly
30 October
Michael Connelly fans are in for a treat this October as Harry Bosch and Renée Ballard join forces for the very first time to close a cold case and bring the killer of a teenage girl to justice. Bosch and Ballard have real chemistry and make for a really winning combination, ensuring a hugely entertaining, tense and thrilling police procedural.

No Further Questions by Gillian McAllister
18 October
From the author of Everything But The Truth and Anything You Do Say comes a brand new psychological suspense novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Clare Mackintosh and Claire Douglas. A lawyer by day, Gillian McAllister blends her professional expertise with plots which ask what you would do to create truly unputdownable reads.

Absolute Proof by Peter James
4 October
Peter James has something a little different in store for us in his new standalone thriller – a complex tale as intriguing and thought-provoking as it is entertaining. If you enjoyed Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code, then this book, which follows Investigative reporter Ross Hunter on his most dangerous story yet, is for you.

best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018

The Reckoning by John Grisham
23 October
The Reckoning tells the story of an unthinkable murder, the bizarre trial that followed it and its profound and lasting effect on the people of Ford County. Grisham’s trademark suspense, coupled with his legal insight, guarantee that this will be another unputdownable thriller – and we can’t wait to read it.

Ambush by James Patterson
18 October
Detective Michael Bennett is stuck between two cartels in a desperate, bloody struggle for territory in James Patterson’s latest release. Jam-packed with suspense, action and excitement, this is a truly thrilling rollercoaster of a book that sees New York’s top cop come face to face with his enemies.

The Christmas Scorpion: a Jack Reacher short story by Lee Child
1 October
If, like us, you can’t wait for the next Jack Reacher novel to hit the shelves next month then never fear – there’s a Reacher digital short story heading our way to keep us occupied while we wait! Can Reacher save a British cabinet minister from a feared assassin? There’s only one way to find out…

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in august 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018
best books out in October 2018

Have we missed any of the best books out in October? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

2 Comments

  1. Judith Whitehouse says

    ‘The Great Darkness’ by Jim Kelly – set in Cambridge in the opening weeks of WW2……well-researched, intelligently written – great stuff!

  2. Peterborean says

    Rosie Claverton’s Hard Return, Stuart Field’s Steel and Shadows, both hit the market place this. October