The best books out in September

best books out in september 2019

It’s hard to believe that summer is already on its way out. With the hint of a crisp chill in the evening air, it won’t be long before the leaves start to fall from the trees and the temperature cools down. For book lovers everywhere, this is the perfect time to crack out last year’s cosy blankets and retreat to the comfort of an armchair for the foreseeable future.

But a reading nook just wouldn’t be complete without a pile of brilliant new reads. September promises exciting new page turners from Robert Harris, Ann Cleeves and Emma Curtis – and for those who prefer a paperback, you’ll be spoiled for choice with the sheer amount hitting shelves in the next few weeks. The only thing left to do now is put the kettle on and a raise a mug to the colder months ahead!

Here’s our pick of the best books out in September.

The best books out in September 2019:

best books out in september 2019
best books out in September 2019
best books out in September 2019

The Second Sleep by Robert Harris
5 September
Set in a remote, isolated village in Exmoor, this is a chilling and dark new thriller following young priest Christopher Fairfax as he tries to discover the truth about the death of his predecessor. It’s a clever, absorbing read, and a real page turner that we promise you’ll struggle to put down.

The Long Call by Ann Cleeves
5 September
Fans of Ann Cleeves’ wonderful Vera and Shetland novels won’t want to miss the first book in her brand new series when it hits shelves this month. The Long Call sees past and present collide when Detective Matthew Venn is pulled back to the North Devon community where he grew up, only to uncover its deadly secrets when a body is found on the beach nearby.

Many Rivers to Cross by Peter Robinson
19 September
DCI Alan Banks is called in to investigate when the body of a young boy is found discarded like rubbish in a wheelie bin. Packed with mystery, intrigue and suspense, this is a gripping, emotional and thought-provoking police procedural that delves into the dark and dangerous world of organised crime.

best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in September 2019

The Night You Left by Emma Curtis
5 September
When Grace’s fiancé vanishes without a trace the night after proposing, her life is turned upside down. But has Nick walked out on her, or is he in danger? Perfect for fans of Claire Douglas and Jane Corry, this twisty, slow-burning new thriller from the bestselling author of One Little Mistake is already receiving rave reviews and will have you racing through to discover the truth.

Killer Instinct by James Patterson
19 September
Dr Dylan Reinhart is back in the thrilling sequel to Murder Games, the basis for Sky Witness’s Instinct starring Alan Cumming and Whoopi Goldberg. This instalment sees the Ivy League professor and his old partner, Detective Elizabeth Needham, come up against a sociopath who refuses to play by the rules. Get ready for an absolute roller coaster of a ride.

Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks
5 September
I Invited Her In author Adele Parks explores the darkest corners of a relationship spiraling out of control in this addictive domestic thriller. With a cast of flawed characters and twists from start to finish, this is one book that’s full to the brim with – yep, you guessed it – secrets and lies that are guaranteed to keep you guessing.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019
best books out in september 2019

Have we missed any of the best books out in September 2019? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.