Explore nowExplore now

Our recommended summer 2024 crime fiction Explore now

Frank Behr books in order

Looking for David Levien’s Frank Behr books in order? Look no further!

David Levien is one of the top screenwriters in Hollywood, with credits including Ocean’s Thirteen, Runaway Jury and Rounders.

David’s thrillers are packed full of suspense and will hook you in from the very beginning. We were first introduced to Frank Behr, David’s enigmatic, brooding private investigator, in City of the Sun, with three more books following since.

If you’re yet to discover David Levien’s work, read on for a taste of the Frank Behr books in order!

David Levien’s Frank Behr books in order:

City of the Sun by David Levien

1. City Of The Sun

Twelve-year-old Jamie Gabriel gets on his bike before dawn to deliver newspapers in his suburban neighbourhood. Somewhere en route, he vanishes without a trace.

Fourteen months later, still with no sign of Jamie and having lost all faith in the police, his parents Paul and Carol are on the verge of abandoning hope. Then they meet private investigator Frank Behr, a tough, reclusive ex-cop.

Abandoned by his former colleagues, separated from his wife and haunted by his own terrible past, Behr doesn’t make it a practice to take on hopeless cases, but the desperate couple’s plea for help awakens a personal pain that Frank just can’t ignore.

Where The Dead Lay by David Levien

2. Where The Dead Lay

When Frank Behr’s friend and mentor is murdered without any apparent motive, he thirsts for answers and retaliation. But before he can make headway in the dead-end investigation, a private firm approaches him with a delicate proposition: two of its detectives have gone missing, and the firm wants Behr to find out what happened to them.

The search for the missing detectives takes Behr into the recesses of Indianapolis’s underworld, a place rife with brutality and vice where Behr uncovers a shocking thread connecting the missing detectives to his friend’s brutal murder, and, in the process, an ominous, deadly new breed of crime family.

The Contract by David Levien

3. The Contract

Troubled former cop Frank Behr is working for an exclusive Indianapolis investigation company, when he finds himself on a protection detail for Bernard ‘Bernie Cool’ Kolodnik, a hard driving business mogul on the verge of making a move into big-time politics.

An attempt on Kolodnik’s life is quickly buried by the police. But Behr wants the truth, and his hunt will put him a collision course with a dangerous sociopath…

Signature Kill by David Levien

4. Signature Kill

He’s disturbed and dark. Very dark. For this man, killing is like a craving he just can’t satisfy. Death is his art and his victims simply his materials. But half the fun is in the planning, and this killer knows how to plan, and how to stay unseen.

Frank Behr isn’t even a cop. He used to be a cop, but now he’s just a man, down on his luck, and tangled up in a whole lot of trouble. When he discovers a connection between a missing persons case and one of the serial killer’s victims, he is forced to go it alone to find the culprit.

This is a hunt that will push Behr to the limits of his skills, and the limits of his morals. Because as Behr is drawn further into this killer’s grotesque mind, he finds that the line between good and evil is more grey than he ever imagined.

There you have it – David Levien’s Frank Behr books in order! How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

1 Comment

    Haven’t read this author … yet! Just added all 4 books to my wish list. Amazon … here I come 🙂

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.