February’s Hottest New Releases

february releases

January undoubtedly felt like the longest month for a long while – but with February now upon us, we can shrug off those new year resolutions, bring the hot chocolate back out and succumb to those cosy nights in with a good crime novel. We’re not bad influences, honest!

This month we’re looking forward to highly anticipated debuts from Nuala Ellwood and Daniel Cole, a new psychological thriller from the author of Behind Closed Doors and the seventh gripping Inspector McLean novel from James Oswald. With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, our gift to you is this brilliant selection of new releases – better than any cheesy card we reckon.

Which will you be picking up?

February releases:

february releases
february releases
february releases

My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood – 9 February
Nuala Ellwood’s debut is so wonderfully twisty that it will keep you guessing to the very end. It’s a well-balanced, brilliantly written psychological thriller with characters that are easy to connect with and deliciously dark intrigue at every turn. Find out how Sunday Times Foreign Correspondent Marie Colvin inspired the book’s main character.

Blue Light Yokohama by Nicholas Obregon – 2 February
This hauntingly atmospheric thriller, inspired by a real life murder that remains unsolved sixteen years on, introduces Inspector Kosuke Iwata of Tokyo homicide department – a detective with a dark past and an uncertain future. It’s a tense, mysterious novel with an addictive edge, and we think this young writer is set to be a star.

Written in Bones by James Oswald – 23 February
Written in Bones is the seventh book in James Oswald’s gritty Edinburgh-based Inspector McLean series and sees Tony on the hunt for the truth behind a crime that cuts to the very heart of the city, investigating the most mysterious murder of his career. This is one not to be missed. Read the first chapter here.

february releases
february releases
february releases

Ragdoll by Daniel Cole – 23 February
Ragdoll, the highly anticipated first book in an exciting new series featuring Detectives William Wolf and Emily Baxter, is a cat-and-mouse thriller that reads like a dark and gruesome episode of Luther. It’s fast-paced and gritty, with a clever plot and inventive murders – and it’s definitely one to watch.

The Breakdown by B A Paris – 9 February
From the bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors comes The Breakdown – a psychological thriller about all-consuming guilt and paranoia. After the phenomenal success of her first novel we’re expecting big things from B A Paris’ second, which asks who can you trust if you can’t trust yourself?

The Chalk Pit by Elly Griffiths – 23 February
Forensic anthropologist Dr Ruth Galloway returns in The Chalk Pit – the ninth mystery in Elly Griffiths’ wonderful series, in which Ruth must unravel the dark, gruesome secrets of a web of underground tunnels in Norwich. We promise you’ll be hooked from the very first page and will struggle to put it down.

february releases
february releases
february releases

The Intrusions by Stav Sherez – 2 February
Detectives Carrigan and Miller are thrust into a terrifying new world of stalking and obsession this month as Stav Sherez’s modern, contemporary thriller The Intrusions hits the shelves. Prepare to be gripped by the intelligent, creepy plot and the absolutely fantastic pace. We can’t recommend it enough.

Spook Street by Mick Herron – 9 February
Mick Herron’s Jackson Lamb spy thrillers keep going from strength to strength, so we can’t wait to get our hands on Spook Street this month. It’s a slick, smart, darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Len Deighton. If you’re yet to discover Herron’s writing, we can guarantee you’re in for a treat.

Every Pretty Thing by Chris Mooney – 9 February
In Every Pretty Thing, serial killer hunter Darby McCormick finds herself in Montana, looking for a friend – but little does she realise that a murderer is waiting for her. This nail-biting, action-packed thriller doesn’t let up, and the twists and turns keep coming right up until the dramatic conclusion.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

february releases
february releases
february releases
february releases
february releases
february releases
february releases
february releases
mm

The home of killer books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

2 Comments

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.