Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletterSign up

Get weekly recommendations and eBook deals in our newsletter Sign up

First Look: Written in Bones by James Oswald

We’re delighted to reveal the cover for Written in Bones by James Oswald – the seventh book in the brilliant Inspector McLean series which hits shelves on 23rd February 2017. Dark and gritty, these books are perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Stuart MacBride and Peter James.

When a body is found in a tree in The Meadows, Edinburgh’s scenic parkland, the forensics suggest the corpse has fallen from a great height. Detective Inspector Tony McLean wonders whether it was an accident, or a murder designed to send a chilling message?

The dead man had led quite a life: a disgraced ex-cop turned criminal kingpin who reinvented himself as a celebrated philanthropist. As McLean traces the victim’s journey, it takes him back to Edinburgh’s past, and through its underworld – crossing paths with some of its most dangerous and most vulnerable people. And waiting at the end of it all, is the truth behind a crime that cuts to the very heart of the city. The roots of murder run deep…

We love the dark, atmospheric cover of Written in Bones. What do you think? Let us know in the comments below – and if you’re yet to discover this fantastic series then get a taste of all the books here.

Inspector McLean book 7

3 Comments

    Already ordered mine. Shame it wasn’t out a couple of weeks earlier and I could have read it on holiday.

    PRAISE FOR JAMES OSWALD POLICE INVESTIGATION SEEPS FROM EVERY PAGE WOW !!!!!!!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.