Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fictionExplore deals

Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fiction Explore deals

Inspector Rykel books in order: the complete series

Looking for Jake Woodhouse’s Inspector Rykel Amsterdam Quartet books in order? Look no further!

Inspector Jaap Rykel of Amsterdam’s Murder Squad is the star of this dark and disturbing four-book series which is perfect for fans of The Killing or The Bridge.

These gripping police procedurals don’t shy away from brutality, but also offer taut, twisty plots and expertly crafted characters.

Here are all the Inspector Rykel books in order.

Jake Woodhouse’s Inspector Rykel Amasterdan Quartet books in order:

After the Silence by Jake Woodhouse

1. After the Silence (2014)

A body is found hanging on a hook above the canals of Amsterdam’s old town, with a mobile phone forced into the victim’s mouth. Inspector Jaap Rykel is put on the case, and quickly realises he’s hunting an intelligent yet brutal murderer.

Still grieving from the violent death of his last partner, Rykel must work alongside a junior out-of-town detective with her own demons to face, if he has any hope of stopping the killer from striking again…

Into the Night by Jake Woodhouse

2. Into the Night (2015)

A body is found on a rooftop, the dead man’s hands blowtorched to get rid of prints, his head removed. The man tasked with tracking down the criminal responsible? Amsterdam Inspector Jaap Rykel. But as he searches the headless body for clues, Rykel finds something which makes his blood run cold – a picture of himself on the victim’s phone.

Before he has time to process what he’s seen, a message from the killer reveals the location of a second mutilated corpse. Just when Rykel thought he’d seen everything in Western Europe’s murder capital, Amsterdam’s underworld surprises him again…

Before the Dawn by Jake Woodhouse

3. Before the Dawn (2017)

On a small Dutch island, a woman’s body is found with its head wrapped in cling film and its hands tied behind her back. Veteran detective Inspector Jaap Rykel of Amsterdam’s Murder Squad is swiftly summoned, and he soon identifies a suspect, who hands himself over. Yet the man has no history of violence, no motive, and no connection to the victim.

On the other side of the Netherlands, a similar murder – and confession – is reported. Rykel wonders if these are random senseless acts, or something more mysterious. Seeking patterns no one wants to see, Rykel is drawn deeper into a sinister, sprawling case which could very well destroy him…

The Copycat by Jake Woodhouse

4. The Copycat (2019)

Jaap Rykel is on the brink, his dark past driving him to breaking point, threatening his police career. Visiting the station one last time, he stumbles across an investigation into a violent murder – a killing with details that exactly match a case he solved years earlier. But that criminal was caught, and remains in prison.

Is there a copycat killer on the loose, playing games with Rykel’s fragile mind? Or did he get it wrong, and send an innocent man to prison? This could be his last chance to make things right, or it might be the blow that finally takes him over the edge…

There you have it – all Jake Woodhouse’s Inspector Rykel books in order! How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

Books like

Reykjavik by Katrín Jakobsdóttir and Ragnar Jonasson

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.