The best summer readingExplore now

Our recommended summer 2024 crime fiction Explore now

Black Book books in order: the complete series

Looking for James Patterson’s Billy Harney Black Book books in order? Look no further!

A book by king of the thriller James Patterson will always leave you wanting more – and the Black Book series is no exception. Following the adventures of hard-boiled Chicago cop Billy Harney, the series explores his life in the city that he loves – even if it doesn’t always treat him so well.

With everything from political intrigue to heart-thumping action scenes, the Black Book series is perfect for those looking to enter the huge world of James Patterson.

Here are all of James Patterson’s Black Book books in order.

James Patterson’s Black Book books in order:

The Black Book by James Patterson

1. The Black Book (2017)

Being a cop runs in Billy Harney’s family. The son of Chicago’s Chief of Detectives, he would give up everything for the job – including his life.

After a brutal shooting, Billy is left for dead alongside his tempestuous former partner and an ambitious assistant district attorney. But somehow Billy survives – and is charged with double murder. He remembers nothing about the shooting, but while retracing his steps discovers the existence of a little black book that he suspects will either set him free, or confirm his worst fears…

The Red Book by James Patterson

2. The Red Book (2021)

To Billy Harney, the newest member of Chicago PD’s elite strike force, getting shot in the head, stalked by a state’s attorney, and accused of murder by his fellow cops is all part of breaking a case. So, when a drive-by shooting on the Chicago’s West Side turns political, he doesn’t shy away from leading the investigation.

As the easy answers prove to be the wrong ones, Harney’s quest to expose the evil that’s rotting the city from the inside out takes him to the one place he vowed never to return to: his own troubled past.

Escape by James Patterson

3. Escape (2022)

When five teenage girls are abducted, Chicago PD Detective Billy Harney leads the investigation to find them. He and his partner, Carla, follow a lead to a remote house, only to find themselves caught in a deadly trap. A huge explosion rips through the building, killing Carla and allowing the kidnapper to escape.

With the loss of his partner fuelling him, Harney strengthens his resolve to find her killer – and to make sure the body count ends there.

There you have it – all of James Patterson’s Billy Harney Black Book books in order! How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

More from James Patterson

The President is Missing by Bill Clinton and James Patterson

1 Comment

    Two and on to #3! Like that is in Chicago and love the characters. Would love to know how much based on true cases as Chicago needs help right now. Maybe Lightfoot should read?!

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.