The best summer readingExplore now

Our recommended summer 2024 crime fiction Explore now

Julia Heaberlin Books in Order

Looking for Julia Heaberlin’s books in order? Look no further!

Julia Heaberlin is the internationally bestselling author of six thrillers, including Black-Eyed Susans, Paper Ghosts, We Are All the Same in the Dark and Night Will Find You. Her books have sold to more than twenty countries and have been optioned for film.

Black-Eyed Susans was a Sunday Times number two bestseller and a Radio 2 Book Club selection, as well as Waterstones Thriller of the Month.
Before writing novels, Heaberlin was an award-winning journalist, which fed her interest in true crime and the forgotten stories of victims, a theme she carries into her fiction.

If you’re at a loss as for where to start, don’t worry – we’ve got you covered. Here are all of Julia Heaberlin’s books in order.

Julia Heaberlin’s books in order:

Playing Dead by Julia Heaberlin

1. Playing Dead (2012)

A few weeks after her father’s death, Tommie McCloud receives a letter in the post from Rosalina Marchetti in Chicago, and her whole life is turned upside down. Rosalina claims that Tommie is her biological daughter, who was kidnapped over thirty years ago.

As she begins to investigate Rosalina’s allegation, she discovers that her biological father may be violent mobster Anthony Marchetti, imprisoned for thirty years for the brutal murder of an FBI agent and his family, and now up for parole in Texas. She is approached by journalist Jack Smith, who claims to know about her past. But is he really who he says he is? Not sure who to trust, Tommie sets out to discover the truth about her identity and in doing so uncovers explosive secrets that threaten not only her life, but also the lives of those she holds dear.

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin

2. Lie Still (2013)

Clairmont, Texas is home to some of the South’s most wealthy and established families. When Emily Page and her husband Mike move there from New York City, they believe that it’s a place where they can build a new life. Pregnant Emily is soon invited to a prestigious lunch hosted by local doyenne Caroline Warwick. There she meets Clairmont’s rich housewives, but soon discovers that under the veneer of respectability lies shifting loyalties and dangerous secrets.

When Caroline Warwick disappears, Emily wonders if any of the well-bred Southern ladies in Caroline’s circle could have wanted her harmed. What was the hold that Caroline had over them and what was Caroline herself trying to hide? As Emily begins to search for clues about Caroline’s disappearance, secrets from her own troubled past start to come to light. Have her problems followed her to Clairmont, or is there something more sinister going on closer to home?

Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin

3. Black-eyed Susans (2015)

Seventeen-year-old Tessa, dubbed a ‘Black-Eyed Susan’ by the media, became famous for being the only victim to survive the vicious attack of a serial killer. Her testimony helped to put a dangerous criminal behind bars – or so she thought.

Now, decades later the black-eyed susans planted outside Tessa’s bedroom window seem to be a message from a killer who should be safely in prison. Haunted by fragmented memories of the night she was attacked and terrified for her own teenage daughter’s safety, can Tessa uncover the truth about the killer before it’s too late?

Paper Ghosts by Julia Heaberlin

4. Paper Ghosts (2013)

Long ago, Carl Feldman was acquitted of murder. Now he’s an old man, living alone with his fading memories.

His daughter has come to see him, to take him on a trip. Only she’s not his daughter, and if she has her way, he’s not coming back…This woman is sure Carl’s a murderer, and that he’s killed others – including her sister Rachel. And she will stop at nothing to find out the truth.

We Are All the Same in the Dark by Julia Heaberlin

5. We are All the Same in the Dark (2020)

Back then, the police cleared her brother Wyatt of any crime. But a new TV documentary has judged otherwise, and old suspicions are reignited. Police officer Odette Tucker is determined to solve the case. She’s got history with the Branson family. And she knows they must tread carefully.

But will digging into this town’s deeply buried secrets do more harm than good? And what will happen when the shocking truth is finally exposed?

Night Will Find You by Julia Heaberlin

6. Night Will Find You (2023)

Vivvy Bouchet, respected scientist and reluctant psychic, saved a boy’s life after a premonition when she was a child. Now a Texas police officer, he convinces Vivvy to help him solve a high-profile cold case, working alongside detective and sceptic Jesse Sharp. Three-year-old Lizzie Solomon disappeared from her home in broad daylight. A body was never found, but the child’s mother, Nicolette, is in prison for the disappearance, loudly proclaiming her innocence.

When a popular podcaster hears of Vivvy’s involvement in the case, his conspiracy theories about the missing child, and Vivvy’s background, have an army of fans hanging on every dangerous word. But when it becomes clear there may be a kidnapper – or killer – still on the loose, Vivvy knows there’s more to lose than her reputation.

There you have it – all Julia Heaberlin’s books in order! How many have you read? Let us know in the comments below…

Love Julia Heaberlin? You’ll love these…

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.