Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fictionExplore deals

Unmissable 99p deals on bestselling crime fiction Explore deals

The CWA Awards

On Monday night at a glamorous dinner at Kings Place in London the winners of the CWA awards were announced at their annual gala dinner.

Longlists were announced for the big three daggers that are awarded at the ITV Crime & Thriller Awards in the Autumn – the Gold, Steel and Debut Daggers.

Dead Good sponsored the CWA Dagger in the Library award and were thrilled to be on hand to see the winner announced.

The full list of winners are:

CWA Dagger in the Library for a body of work: Belinda Bauer
CWA International Dagger: Fred Vargas (translated by Siân Reynolds) and Pierre Lemaitre (translated by Frank Wynne) for Ghost Riders of Ordebec and Alex
CWA Historical Dagger: Andrew Taylor for The Scent of Death
CWA Non-Fiction Dagger: Paul French for Midnight in Peking
CWA Short Story Dagger: Stella Duffy for Come Away With Me
CWA Debut Dagger: Finn Clarke for Call Time

The longlists for the Gold, Steel and Creasey Daggers were also announced and they are as follows:


Belinda Bauer for Rubbernecker (Bantam/Transworld)
Lauren Beukes for The Shining Girls (HarperCollins)
Sam Hawken for Tequila Sunset (Serpent’s Tail)
Mick Herron for Dead Lions (Soho Crime)
Becky Masterman for Rage Against the Dying (Orion)
Sara Paretsky for Breakdown (Hodder & Stoughton)
Michael Robotham for Say You’re Sorry (Sphere)
Don Winslow for The Kings of Cool (Heinemann)


Roger Hobbs for Ghostman (Transworld)
Liz Jensen for The Uninvited (Bloomsbury)
Malcolm Mackay for The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter (Pan Macmillan)
Stuart Neville for Ratlines (Random House)
Mark Oldfield for The Sentinel (Head of Zeus)
Andrew Williams for The Poison Tide (John Murray)
Robert Wilson for Capital Punishment (Orion)


Roger Hobbs for Ghostman (Doubleday)
Hanna Jameson for Something You Are (Head of Zeus)
Malcolm Mackay for The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter (Mantle)
Becky Masterman for Rage Against the Dying (Orion)
Derek B Miller for Norwegian by Night (Faber and Faber)
Thomas Mogford for Shadow of the Rock (Bloomsbury)
Michael Russell for The City Of Shadows (Avon)
M D Villiers for City of Blood (Harvill Secker)

Congratulations to all the winners and shortlisted authors.

Read more on the CWA Website.

Join the discussion

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.