January’s Hottest New Releases

january releases

We’ve got the perfect antidote to your January blues – because a new year also brings fantastic new crime books! Though it may be icy outside there are loads of gripping novels being released this month that are sure to keep you entertained and wrap you in a warm blanket of wonderful writing.

With books from fresh debut voices such as Joseph Knox and Emma Flint, as well as new releases from the likes of Simon Kernick, Eva Dolan and Peter Swanson, there’s choice aplenty! A tough decision though it is, which novel will you be reaching for first?

January releases:

january releases
january releases
january releases

Sirens by Joseph Knox – 12th January
The buzz has been building around this gritty debut novel for some time now – and with the incredible reviews it’s already received this is one you need to watch in 2017. The book introduces Aiden Waits, a disgraced Detective Constable navigating Manchester’s dark underbelly where everyone has something to hide. Read the first chapter here.

Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson – 12th January
From the author of The Kind Worth Killing and The Girl With A Clock For A Heart comes the chilling new psychological thriller Her Every Fear. Reminiscent of Patricia Highsmith and Alfred Hitchcock, this is a tense and twisted read with a brilliant plot and well-crafted characters. It doesn’t disappoint.

The Book of Mirrors by E O Chirovici – 26th January
Can you really trust your own memories? That’s the question at the heart of this intelligent, clever thriller that will make you question everything you think you know. It’s a whodunit – and a whydunit – which focuses on piecing together the solution to an unsolved murder that occurred twenty-five years ago. Find out about more about Chirovici’s inspiration for the book here.

january releases
january releases
january releases

The Bone Field by Simon Kernick – 12th January
We’re in for a huge treat this month as Simon Kernick releases The Bone Field – the first book in a brand new series featuring old favourites DI Ray Mason and PI Tina Boyd. It’s a thrilling, fast-paced, action-packed read that doesn’t let up until the very end. If you’re yet to discover Simon’s work, this is the perfect place to start. Read the first chapter here.

Little Deaths by Emma Flint – 12th January
Inspired by a true story, Little Deaths tells the heart-breaking tale of a mother who wakes to find her two small children have gone missing. It’s a well-written, atmospheric, evocative novel that explores the themes of love, obsession and human nature – and it’ll grip you from page one.

The Trophy Child by Paula Daly – 26th January
Paula Daly continues to push her characters to their limits in The Trophy Child, her latest compelling domestic thriller about a family dangerously near breaking point. Paula is brilliant at creating believable, relatable characters that make you question what you would do if you found yourself in the same situation. We loved it.

january releases
january releases
january releases

Rupture by Ragnar Jónasson – 15th January
Dead Good Reader Award winner Ragnar Jónasson returns this month with the next book in the Dark Iceland series, Rupture – a dark and atmospheric thriller that sees Ari Thór try to piece together the events of a fifty-year-old case. Ragnar is quickly becoming one of our favourite Scandi authors, so we can’t wait to get our hands on this.

Watch Her Disappear by Eva Dolan – 26th January
Here at Dead Good we’re huge Eva Dolan fans, and we think this could well be her best Zigic & Ferreira book yet. Eva’s books aren’t just dark, tense and gripping police procedurals – they’re also thought-provoking, probing novels that delve deep below the surface of communities and pick apart contemporary issues. We can’t recommend Watch Her Disappear enough.

The Nowhere Man by Gregg Hurwitz – 26th January
If you were gripped by Richard and Judy book club pick Orphan X, you won’t want to miss the second hi-octane Evan Smoak thriller which hits the shelves this month. In The Nowhere Man, Evan needs to out-think, out-manoeuvre, and out-fight an opponent the likes of whom he’s never encountered before, to save himself and those who depend on him.

january releases
january releases
january releases

The Dry by Jane Harper – 12th January
This tense, evocative mystery transports us to Australia, where a small town is hiding big secrets. It’s a stunning, evocative debut novel with believable characters, a dramatic setting and beautiful writing – and we promise it’ll be one book that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.

Cast Iron by Peter May – 12th January
When the remains of a body dumped in a lake twenty years previously are uncovered during a drought, forensic expert Enzo Macleod investigates what turns out to be one of his toughest cases yet. Peter May’s latest thriller is well-written and packed with twists and turns that are guaranteed to keep you guessing.

Deep Down Dead by Steph Broadribb – 5th January
We couldn’t be more excited this month as Steph Broadribb, aka Crime Thriller Girl, releases her debut novel. Deep Down Dead takes us on a dark roller coaster ride as a bounty hunter takes on a case that goes horribly wrong. Clear your calendar and cancel all other plans because this is one truly unputdownable book you’ll want to read without interruption.

january releases
january releases
january releases

Watch Me by Angela Clarke – 12th January
When the body of a fifteen-year-old is found hours after she sends a desperate message to her friends, it looks like suicide – until a second girl disappears. So begins the race-against-time investigation at the heart of the second fast-paced, addictive book starring DS Nasreen Cudmore and journalist Freddie Venton. Don’t miss it.

Rattle by Fiona Cummins – 26th January
Rattle gives us a glimpse into the mind of a sinister psychopath, exploring the themes of redemption, revenge and the hidden darkness that runs through us all. It’s a deliciously creepy, well-written serial killer thriller with a sinister plot and brilliant characters. A true page turner perfect for fans of Mo Hayder.

River at Night by Erica Ferencik – 12th January
In A Dark, Dark Wood meets Deliverance in The River at Night, Erica Ferencik’s first thriller, where the adventure of a lifetime becomes a fight to stay alive. The book takes a look at how people behave – and survive – when they find themselves in extraordinary circumstances. You won’t be able to put it down.

The pick of the paperbacks:

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

january releases
january releases
january releases
january releases

january releases
january releases
january releases
january releases

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment

  1. Sebastian says

    I’m so excited for “The Book of Mirrors”, I really hope it can live up to my expectations!

    I also have very high hopes for “Rattle” since I saw the killer being described as “even more terrifying than Hannibal Lecter” and it’s definitely going to be a must-read for me.

    “Her Every Fear” looks interesting as well and the cover indeed reminds me of Hitchcock’s “Rear Window”.

    I still need to read the first book in the Dark Iceland series but definitely plan to do so soon and I also added “The River at Night” to my list because I always have a thing for survival thrillers.

    Thanks for the recs!