August’s Hottest New Releases

best books out in August 2017

Sunny one minute, pouring with rain the next – you’ve got to love the great British summer. Here at Dead Good, we’ve more or less given up when it comes to predicting the weather, so this month’s forecast primarily consists of mystery, murder and mayhem, thanks to the exciting new releases set to hit the shelves.

Whether you’re a die-hard fan of Tess Gerritsen, Anthony Horowitz or Val McDermid, or you fancy trying something completely new, there’s nothing more reliable than a good book – so make sure you’ve got one of these new releases tucked away in your bag.

Which will you be picking up?

The best books out in August:

best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017

I Know A Secret by Tess Gerritsen – 10 August
Tess Gerritsen fans – it’s time to get excited. Detective Jane Rizzoli and Forensic Pathologist Maura Isles are back this month, investigating the gruesome murder of a horror film producer. If you’re after a dark, chilling thriller with fascinating medical insight and a page turning plot, you won’t want to miss this. Find out how Tess created her crime-solving duo here.

The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz – 24 August
From his work on Foyle’s War, Midsomer Murders and Agatha Christie’s Poirot to his Alex Rider, Sherlock Holmes and James Bond novels, Anthony Horowitz sure knows how to keep us gripped, which is why we can’t wait for the first book in his brand new detective series to be released. It’s the very definition of a page turner and a work of absolute genius – so we can’t wait for you to read it.

Here and Gone by Haylen Beck – 10 August
Dark secrets and a breathtaking race to reveal the truth lie at the heart of this rollercoaster of a read which has already received rave reviews from the likes of Harlan Coben, Peter James and Lee Child. It’s an absolute nail-biter of a thriller that will keep you turning the pages long into the night. Read a chapter here.

best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017

The Betrayals by Fiona Neill – 10 August
From the bestselling author of The Good Girl comes The Betrayals, a brilliantly dark new psychological thriller about the fine line between friendship and betrayal. It’s a well-written, complex, emotional novel, and if you loved watching Doctor Foster, Big Little Lies or Apple Tree Yard then it’s the perfect book for you. Read the first chapter here.

Insidious Intent by Val McDermid – 24 August
DCI Carol Jordan and psychological profiler Tony Hill return in Val McDermid’s thrilling new novel which sees the pair hot on the trail of a truly terrifying killer – someone who believes he is invisible, untraceable and untouchable. With her trademark tension and perfect plotting, we’re certain Val is on to another winner.

The Walls by Hollie Overton – 10 August
If you loved Richard and Judy book club pick Baby Doll make sure you pick up Hollie Overton’s second compelling thriller about a prison official driven to commit the perfect crime when it hits the shelves. The Walls is a powerful, suspenseful book that questions how far one woman will go to protect her family. Read the first chapter here.

best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017

Hush Little Baby by Joanna Barnard – 10 August
Joanna Barnard takes a scalpel to the tangles of family life in this cleverly woven, multi-layered domestic thriller that explores every parent’s worst nightmare. Hush Little Baby makes for completely absorbing reading that will keep you teetering precariously on the edge on your seat right up until the final jaw-dropping reveal. Read the first chapter here.

Nothing Stays Buried by P J Tracy – 24 August
Nothing Stays Buried sees Grace MacBride and her team of eccentric computer mavericks teaming up with homicide detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth to catch a twisted serial killer who’s playing a sinister game with deadly consequences. The brilliantly crafted characters shine in this new instalment, and you’ll soon find yourself rooting for them and desperate to discover what happens next.

The Accordionist by Fred Vargas – 17 August
The third and final novel in the Three Evangelists trilogy hits the shelves this month, and with fantastic characterisation and wonderful sense of place, it certainly doesn’t disappoint. Vargas’ quirky, intelligent books delight us time and time again, so if you’re yet to pick one up we can’t recommend them enough.

best books out in August
best books out in August
best books out in August

Last Stop Tokyo by James Buckler – 24 August
Transport yourself to Japan with James Buckler’s debut – a thriller perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben. In an attempt to run from his mistakes, Alex Malloy leaves London for Japan, only to find out that there’s no such thing as rock bottom and things can always get worse. Discover the inspiration behind the book here.

A Nest of Vipers by Andrea Camilleri – 10 August
Summer wouldn’t be complete without a trip to the Sicilian coast with Andrea Camilleri and Inspector Montalbano, one of our favourite detectives. When a man is discovered dead in his beach house, it soon becomes clear half of Vigàta has a motive for his murder. Witty, atmospheric and packed with intrigue, this is a story you’ll want to savour.

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew Sullivan – 24 August
After a bookshop patron commits suicide, his favourite store clerk must unravel the puzzle he left behind in this fiendishly clever debut novel. Packed with twists and turns, this is a dark, suspenseful mystery – but also so much more. We promise it will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.

The pick of the paperbacks:

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017
best books out in August 2017

Have we missed any of the best books out in August? Let us know in the comments below!

mm

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.