The best books out in June

best books out in june 2018

Whether you’re stepping inside the Oval Office with President Bill Clinton and James Patterson or immersing yourself in Ruth Ware’s gripping new mystery, this month’s new releases are sure to help you escape from the humdrum of daily life – and June has something for everyone.

From domestic suspense to historical crime, police procedurals to courtroom drama, your shelves will be truly spoiled for choice, so grab yourself a gripping new read and head out into the sunshine. If you ask us, there’s no better way to relax during the long summer days!

The best books out in June 2018:

best books out in june 2018
best books out in June 2018
best books out in june 2018

The Death of Mrs Westaway by Ruth Ware
28 June
Dark, atmospheric and tense, this Cornish-set psychological thriller from the author of In A Dark, Dark Wood and The Woman in Cabin 10 is not to be missed. It’s an incredibly creepy, chilling mystery that’s packed with menace, and we promise you’ll struggle to put it down as you try to unlock the truth. Read a chapter here.

The President is Missing by James Patterson
4 June
Surrounded every second by staff, media, special agents and the military, the president cannot go missing – only now, he has. Full of details only a president can know, The President is Missing is the most authentic – and gripping – presidential thriller ever, offering intrigue, suspense and behind-the-scenes global drama from the highest corridors of power. Take a first look at this unique novel here.

The Dead Ex by Jane Corry
28 June
Perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Sabine Durrant, this latest offering from Jane Corry is full of tantalising twists and turns that will genuinely keep you guessing thoughout. If you loved My Husband’s Wife and Blood Sisters, you won’t want to miss this compelling new page turner. Read the first chapter here.

best books out in june 2018
best books out in june 2018
best books out in June 2018

The Killing Habit by Mark Billingham
14 June
A new Mark Billingham thriller is always something to celebrate, so make sure you get your hands on this new instalment in the Tom Thorne series this month. Inspired by a dramatic real-life case – that of the Croydon cat killer, The Killing Habit is an absorbing, perfectly plotted police procedural of the highest quality.

Take Me In by Sabine Durrant
28 June
Unbelievably supenseful and shimmering with tension, this pacy psychological thriller is yet another perfect summer read from Sabine Durrant, author of the gripping Lie With Me. Sit back and let the twisted secrets and lies of these delightfully unlikeable characters take you on an absolute roller coaster of a ride.

Smoke and Ashes by Abir Mukherjee
7 June
Captain Sam Wyndham and his side-kick ‘Surrender-not’ Banerjee return in this prize-winning historical crime series set in 1920s Calcutta. Set against the backdrop of the fervent fight for Indian independence, this hugely atmospheric mystery sees the pair investigating two grisly, ritualistic murders and hunting down a deranged killer. We can’t recommend it enough.

best books out in june 2018
best books out in june 2018
best books out in june 2018

How Far We Fall by Jane Shemilt
28 June
The author of Richard and Judy bestseller Daughter takes us behind the closed doors of a marriage consumed by ambition, lies and revenge – ultimately culminating in murder. Perfect for fans of Doctor Foster and Apple Tree Yard, Jane Shemilt has drawn on her personal experience in the medical profession, creating a fastinating, authentic, dark tale of obsession will hook you in right from the start and refuse to let go.

Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh
14 June
Steve Cavanagh’s Eddie Flynn books keep going from strength to strength, and with Thirteen he’s produced an absolute cracker. Prepare yourself for one of the most gripping courtroom thrillers you’ve ever read because this is a book with an irresistable hook: the serial killer isn’t on trial – he’s on the jury.

Mine by Susi Fox
14 June
Imagine the baby in the hospital nursery is not your own – and no one will believe you. Mine is a terrifyingly believable, page-turning story of manipulation and counter-manipulation that fans of Sophie Hannah’s Little Face and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door will love. Find out more about the inspiration for the book here.

best books out in june 2018
best books out in june 2018
best books out in june 2018

The Blood Road by Stuart MacBride
14 June
Stuart MacBride returns with his hugely anticipated new thriller this month, which sees Logan McRae investigating the mysterious death of a fellow officer. With brilliant plotting, top drawer characters and quality writing, this is an addictive read that will have you turning the pages long into the night.

The Chosen Ones by Howard Linskey
14 June
Women are going missing and Detective Ian Bradshaw is the only person who can save them in this gripping race-against-time thriller by Howard Linskey, author of The Search. If you love dark, compelling thrillers then look no further – The Chosen Ones is as chilling as they come. Take a look at Howard’s all-time favourite crime movies here.

Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton
14 June
With shades of The Secret History and The Talented Mr Ripley, this slick, seductive debut novel takes a classic tale of obsession and gives it a fresh twist for the digital age. Following a cast of flawed characters who you’ll love to hate, you’ll quickly become immersed in an addictive, irresistable, twisted world that’s simultaneously disturbing and mesmerising.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in june 2018
best books out in June 2018
best books out in June 2018
best books out in June 2018

Have we missed any of the best books out in June? Let us know in the comments below!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

2 Comments

  1. Steve Bamborough says

    I read dead in the water by simon bowers this month. I have to say, I didn’t expect much, and it started a bit slow, but once it got to part 2 and 3, it was intense. If you like light hearted thrillers, I’d recommend it.

  2. Carolyncwe says

    Incorruptable – long awaited 20th book in Barbara Nadel’s Ikmen series.