The best books out in March

best books out in march 2018

Whether you’re partial to police procedurals or Scandi crime, hard-boiled noir or psychological thrillers, there are so many fantastic new reads hitting the shelves this month that we’re truly spoiled for choice – and with spring finally on the horizon, there’s no better time to refresh your reading list.

Here’s our pick of the new releases that should be on your radar. Which ones take your fancy?

The best books out in March:

best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in March

The Smiling Man by Joseph Knox
8 March
From the bestselling author of Sirens comes the second book starring Detective Aidan Waits – this time on a hunt to find the identity of The Smiling Man. Gritty, clever and full of dark humour, this Manchester-set noir novel will take hold of you and refuse to let go. Say hello to your new favourite detective.

Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh
8 March
The police say it was suicide. Anna says it was murder. They’re both wrong. This twisty, emotional thriller from the author of I Let You Go and I See You really packs a punch. With a depth and sensitivity that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page, Clare Mackintosh has penned another brilliant edge-of-your-seat novel that you won’t forget in a hurry.

Girl on Fire by Tony Parsons
8 March
DC Max Wolfe is back this month in the fifth gripping crime novel by Tony Parsons. It’s an absorbing, arresting read that sees our hero caught in the crossfire in an increasingly dangerous and hostile city, and it confirms what we’ve long suspected: these books just keep getting better and better. Read the first chapter here.

best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march

The Darkness by Ragnar Jonasson
15 March
DI Hulda Hermannsdottir has one more case to solve before retirement – that of a young girl found dead on remote seaweed-covered rocks, where what looks like a suicide is soon found to be something much darker. Intriguing, atmospheric and incredibly dark, this is a beautifully stark first book in what promises to be an unmissable new Nordic noir series.

Panic Room by Robert Goddard
22 March
Layers of secrets, half-truths and lies must be peeled back to reveal what really lies within in the brand new thriller by Robert Goddard, the master of the triple-cross. Perfectly crafted and unbelievably gripping, this page turner will have you racing through, desperate to uncover what’s hidden in the panic room.

Come and Find Me by Sarah Hilary
22 March
If you haven’t picked up a DI Marnie Rome book yet then you’re in for a huge treat. The latest book in the series is an absolute roller coaster of a police procedural, with twists and turns aplenty and a pace that doesn’t let up. Sarah Hilary’s characters are the real heroes of this thriller though: they’re so well-written that you’ll find yourself truly invested in them.

best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march

Exhibit Alexandra by Natasha Bell
8 March
Alexandra Southwood is missing, her distraught family left behind. But Exhibit Alexandra is no ordinary psychological thriller. Perfect for fans of Dear Amy and Her, this mystery tells a compulsive tale of family and manipulation that will keep you guessing right up to the dramatic conclusion. Here’s Natasha to introduce her debut novel.

The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton
22 March
If you like seeing characters driven to extremes then this debut psychological thriller is perfect for you. Seriously claustrophobic, with the tension building with every chapter, The Perfect Girlfriend is a book about obsession and infatuation – and how they can have devastating consequences for everyone involved.

The Fear by C L Taylor
22 March
Dead Good Reader Award winner C L Taylor’s dark new psychological thriller hits shelves this month – and we think it’s her best book yet. The Fear is unbelievably addictive – the sinister, intriguing plot will hook you in from the very first chapter – and just you wait until you reach the twist at the end! We can’t recommend it enough.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march
best books out in march

That’s our pick of the best books out in March! Which will you be picking up? Let us know in the comments below…

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.