The best books out in May

best books out in May 2019

May promises two bank holidays in one month, which gives us plenty of time to escape with some cracking crime reads – and you’re going to want to clear your diaries to make sure you don’t miss out on any of these exciting new releases.

Thomas Harris, Denise Mina and James Ellroy all have brilliant new books out this month – and if that wasn’t enough, we’ve also picked twelve paperbacks from the likes of Shari Lapena, M J Arlidge and Elly Griffiths that would make great additions to your shelf. So pick your reading spot and don’t forget to stock up on teabags!

The best books out in May 2019:

best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019

Cari Mora by Thomas Harris
16 May
It’s been 13 years since we last got our hands on a new book by master thriller writer and creator of Hannibal Lecter Thomas Harris – but now he’s back with a brand new villain. Cari Mora is a story of evil, greed and the consequences of dark obsession, and we guarantee it’s one you won’t want to miss. Find out more about the book here.

No One Home by Tim Weaver
16 May
David Raker is on the case when an entire village vanishes in Tim Weaver’s new missing persons thriller. If you’ve read every book in this series then you’ll know they just keep getting better and better – and if you’ve not picked one up, you’re sure in for a treat. It’s perfectly crafted, atmospheric and as gripping from start to finish. We can’t recommend it enough.

Conviction by Denise Mina
16 May
The award-winning author of The Long Drop returns this month with Conviction, a pacy standalone thriller that follows a woman obsessed by true-crime podcasts who decides, one day, to investigate one of the unsolved crimes herself. The story’s intriguing to the very last page, full of dark humour and as suspenseful as they come. Read an extract from the book here.

best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing
2 May
How well do you really know the person you love the most? Dexter meets Gone Girl in this chilling, twisted psychological thriller about a married couple hiding a dark secret. It’s shocking, devilish and impossible to put down, and we promise you’ll be hooked after just one chapter.

Their Little Secret by Mark Billingham
2 May
DI Tom Thorne and DI Nicola Tanner are back investigating two seemingly unconnected cases in Mark Billingham’s brilliant new police procedural. Chilling, compelling and packed with twists and turns you won’t see coming, this is one page turner you’ll race through desperate to find out what happens next.

This Storm by James Ellroy
30 May
Following on from the incredible Perfidia, this is the second book in the LA Quartet. With his trademark short, snappy, brutal style and an array of flawed, crazy characters, this sharp, thrilling novel shows exactly why Ellroy is one of the most iconic American crime writers of our time.

best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019

Cleaning the Gold by Karin Slaughter and Lee Child
16 May
Will Trent is undercover at Fort Knox. His assignment: to investigate a twenty-two-year-old murder. His suspect’s name: Jack Reacher. Lee Child and Karin Slaughter have brought their much-loved, iconic characters together for the first time in what promises to be an explosive short story. We can’t wait to get our hands on it!

The Passengers by John Marrs
30 May
Eight self-drive cars set on a collision course. Who lives? Who dies? You decide. John has a real talent for penning gripping, original page turners – as fans of The One and The Good Samaritan will already know – and this clever near-future thriller is no exception. Read an extract from the book here.

Dead At First Sight by Peter James
16 May
Fast-paced, tightly-plotted and full of thrills, the latest Peter James novel sees Roy Grace bring down a global empire built on clever, cruel internet scams. With a modern premise that oozes with mystery and a great cast of characters, Dead At First Sight is an absorbing read that won’t disappoint.

best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019

Secret Service by Tom Bradby
30 May
From ITV News Anchor and bestselling author Tom Bradby comes Secret Service, a truly fresh-from-the-headlines thriller perfect for fans of Bodyguard and Homeland. Following senior MI6 officer Kate Henderson as she races against the clock to uncover a Russian mole in the British government, this is a book that will send you on a tense roller coaster ride.

All That’s Dead by Stuart MacBride
30 May
Inspector Logan McRae was looking forward to a nice simple first case after a year off sick, but it looks like the powers-that-be have other ideas in Stuart MacBride’s new novel – a hugely entertaining, witty read with writing that’s spot on and wonderful characters you’ll really root for. Don’t miss it.

Little Liar by Lisa Ballantyne
30 May
If you loved Richard and Judy book club pick The Guilty One, make sure you pick up Lisa Ballantyne’s next novel when it hits shelves this month. A gripping tale of two families torn apart by one catastrophic betrayal, the book explores guilt and innocence, secrets and lies – making you question you should trust the most.

The pick of the paperbacks

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019
best books out in may 2019

Have we missed any of the best books out in May 2019? Let us know in the comments below…

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment