November’s Hottest New Releases

best books out in November 2017

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! Well, not quite – but it is November so in our book it’s a reasonable time to turn our thoughts to all things festive including advent calendars, hot chocolate, mince pies and, of course, cosy crime classics.

Luckily, to calm ourselves down just a little we have a month packed full of crime gems – with Lee Child’s brand new Jack Reacher thriller, the debut outing from Jessica Jones and Breaking Bad star Krysten Ritter and a delightful new novel by Elly Griffiths ready and waiting in your local bookshop.

Which of these cracking reads will you be reaching for first?

The best books out in November:

best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017

The Midnight Line by Lee Child
7 November
The nights are getting colder and darker – but never fear, because Jack Reacher is back and on top form. The Midnight Line follows Reacher as he doggedly pursues his quest for justice in what may be his most chilling adventure yet. Another unmissable read from a master storyteller. Read the first chapter here.

The Hanged Man by Simon Kernick
16 November
Simon Kernick’s Bone Field series continues with The Hanged Man – a book with bodies and betrayal at every turn. When the remains of seven unidentified women are discovered at a house deep in the countryside, DI Ray Mason and PI Tina Boyd are on the case in what turns out to be an absolute roller coaster of a story. If you like your thrillers intense, pacy and action-packed then you just have to pick this up.

The House by Simon Lelic
2 November
If something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. That’s what Jack and Syd discover in The House, the deliciously creepy new novel by Simon Lelic. Inspired by Alfred Hitchcock and Stephen King, this book will see you turning the pages long into the night. Find out which books inspired Simon’s thriller here.

best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter
9 November
With tantalising twists, slow-burning suspense, and a remote, rural town covering just five claustrophobic miles, Bonfire is a dark exploration of what happens when your past and present collide. This is the first gritty, atmospheric novel by Jessica Jones and Breaking Bad star Krysten Ritter and it definitely doesn’t disappoint.

Whiteout by Ragnar Jonasson
1 November
Dead Good Reader Award winner Ragnar Jonasson releases his latest Dark Iceland novel this month – just in time for the chillier evenings. When a body is found two days before Christmas, Ari Thór Arason must race against the clock to find the killer before tragedy strikes again. A dark, atmospheric read that will stay with you long after you’ve finished it.

Can You Keep A Secret? by Karen Perry
30 November
Perfect for fans of Sophie Hannah and Ruth Ware, Can You Keep A Secret? revolves around a reunion of old friends, a revelation of old secrets and revenge – at any cost. Well-written, with an intriguing premise and creeping suspense throughout, this is a book that will hook you in right from the start.

best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017

Now We Are Dead by Stuart MacBride
2 November
From the bestselling author of the Logan McRae series comes Now We Are Dead, a standalone spinoff featuring DS Roberta Steel and something we’ve been desperate for for some time. The book sees Steel on a mission to stop a man she believes is attacking women, but finding herself up against opposition at every turn. It’s safe to say we’re in for a treat.

Freefall by Adam Hamdy
2 November
If you loved Adam Hamdy’s last novel, Pendulum, you won’t want to miss the follow-up when it hits shelves this month. John Wallace returns in this slick, explosive thriller that just doesn’t let up. There’s no doubt that Freefall is an action-packed, tightly plotted novel – but it’s also a hugely clever, intelligent read that will leave you desperate for more.

The Vanishing Box by Elly Griffiths
2 November
Edgar Stephens and Max Mephisto are back and investigating their most dangerous case yet in a book that shows the line between art and life – and death – is all too easily blurred. This series never fails to delight – the characters are wonderful, the descriptions are evocative and and plots are as intriguing as they come.

best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in november 2017

Murder in the Snow by Gladys Mitchell
2 November
First published in 1950, this classic crime mystery starring the incomparable Mrs Bradley is a wonderful treat for the Christmas season. Murder in the Snow has everything you could want from a cosy festive read – a glorious winter setting, a charming amateur detective and an intriguing plot – and provides the perfect excuse to lock out the cold and curl up with a mulled wine.

The Dying Game by Asa Avdic
2 November
Combining suspense, unexpected twists, psychological gamesmanship and a sinister dystopian future, this debut novel from Swedish author Asa Avdic is a brilliantly contemporary locked-room mystery that’s guaranteed to keep you guessing. If you like Agatha Christie and Ruth Ware, you’ll love this suspenseful read. Read an extract here.

Mindhunter by John Douglas and Mark Olshaker
2 November
With the fierce page-turning power of a bestselling novel, yet terrifyingly true, Mindhunter is the true crime classic that inspired David Fincher’s hit Netflix series. The book provides real, fascinating insights into the life of an FBI Special Agent, and the minds of the psychologically disturbed serial killers he hunts. Fans of the show won’t want to miss it.

The pick of the paperbacks:

These beauties have already hit the shelves in hardback and are newly available in paperback this month.

best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017
best books out in November 2017

Have we missed any of the best books out in November? Let us know in the comments below!

mm

The home of killer books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

1 Comment

  1. Bev Beresford says

    Just finished Stuart Mcbride’s latest -. Now we are Dead.
    It’s Roberta Steel’s turn to take centre stage and I had 3 hours of excitement, laughter and thrills as I followed the adventures of Sgt Steel and her long suffering sidekick D. C Quirrel (Tufty).
    This is truly a masterpiece in detective fiction. It is both thrilling and hilarious. Stuart Mcbride has a fantastic sense of humour and he delivers the story to provide us with crime fiction. entertainment in the most hilarious way. The book has some very funny illustrations at the start and finish and is a joy for fans. Another gem about Aberdeen’finest and I can’t wait for the next book.

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.