9 of the creepiest audiobooks

best scary audiobooks

If you enjoy the creeping sense of dread that crawls up your spine as you immerse yourself in a thrilling, atmospheric mystery then you’re in for a treat with these creepy audiobooks.

Whether we’re listening to the dark Scandinavian thriller The Crow Girl or Liz Nugent’s chilling, claustrophobic crime novel Lying in Wait, we love nothing more than losing ourselves in an audiobook for hours on end – and there’s something oddly satisfying about seeing how long we can listen without having to hide under the duvet!

Which of these brilliantly sinister audiobooks will be going right to the top of your list?

9 of the creepiest audiobooks:

scary audiobooksThe Crow Girl by Erik Axl Sund, read by Gabrielle Glaisters

This international Scandi crime sensation has to be one of the darkest, most gruesome crime novels we’ve ever come across. Prepare yourself for twist after twist, because you’ll never guess where this one is heading.

After a body is found – the hands bound, the skin covered in marks – Detective Superintendent Jeanette Kihlberg is determined to find out who is responsible. When it becomes clear she’s hunting a serial killer, she turns to psychotherapist Sofia Zetterlund for help.

scary audiobooksIt by Stephen King, read by Steven Weber

Take a trip to Derry Maine, where IT lurks in the storm drains and sewers, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread – and turning it into a terrible reality.

If you love a truly scary story, then It is the book for you – and this audio edition is beyond sinister in the way it brings the characters to life, lifting them off the page. Make sure you listen to this one with the lights on.

scary audiobooksLying In Wait by Liz Nugent, read by Caoilfheann Dunne, David McFetridge and Lesley McGuire

Lydia lives in the perfect house with her adoring husband and beloved son. There is just one thing Lydia yearns for to make her perfect life complete, though the last thing she expects is that pursuing it will lead to murder. However, needs must – because nothing can stop this mother from getting what she wants.

Fans of The Talented Mr Ripley will love Liz Nugent’s psychological thriller – a claustrophobic, creepy novel that picks apart the facade of the perfect family and lets you into the mind of a fixated, meticulous serial killer.

scary audiobooksThe Snowman by Jo Nesbo, read by Sean Barrett

The Snowman is one of those thrillers that is so chilling it’s guaranteed to send a shiver down your spine – and if you’re keen to read the book before you see the film then we can’t recommend the audio edition and Sean Barrett’s note-perfect narration enough!

A young boy wakes to find his mother missing. Their house is empty but outside in the garden he sees his mother’s favourite scarf – wrapped around the neck of a snowman. As Harry Hole investigates he discovers that a number of women have gone missing over the years. For the first time in his career, Harry finds himself confronted with a serial killer operating on his home turf.

scary audiobooksGhost Stories by E F Benson, read by Mark Gatiss

Sherlock creator and actor Mark Gatiss voices his pick of classic tales by the unsung master of the classic ghost story.

E F Benson is perhaps best known for his Mapp and Lucia books – but he also penned hundreds of seriously chilling and creepy stories that will give you goosebumps. Fans of M R James, Wilkie Collins and Susan Hill will love this atmospheric, spine-tingling edition. Once you’ve listened we guarantee you’ll be desperate for more.

scary audiobooksGood Me Bad Me by Ali Land, read by Hannah Murray

Annie’s mother is a serial killer. The only way Annie can make it stop is to hand her in to the police. Now, with a new family and a new name, surely she can be whoever she wants to be. But blood is thicker than water and she is, after all, her mother’s daughter. Can she escape the secrets of her past that keep her awake at night?

Hannah Murray’s bleak, monotonous yet gentle and soft narration captures Annie’s troubled mindset perfectly, creating an eerie and uncanny listening experience. The suspense builds with every chapter, so we promise you’ll find yourself listening long into the night.

scary audiobooksBird Box by Josh Malerman, read by Katharine Mangold

Josh Malerman’s terrifying psychological thriller will haunt you long after you’ve finished – and show you that your imagination can conjure up more terrifying images than your eyes ever could.

Something is out there; one glimpse of it and a person is driven to deadly violence. Only a handful of survivors remain, and they dream of fleeing to safety – but the journey ahead will be terrifying: twenty miles downriver, blindfolded, with nothing to rely on but their wits and hearing. And something is following them. But is it man, animal, or monster?

scary audiobooksFear, ed. by Roald Dahl, read by Rory Kinnear, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Tom Felton and Kevin Eldon

Julian Rhind-Tutt, Kevin Eldon, Tom Felton and Rory Kinnear narrate this selection of deliciously dark ghost stories for adults, picked by Roald Dahl himself.

If you love seriously suspenseful, spine-chilling stories, these terrible tales of ghostly goings-on from the likes of Sheridan le Fanu, Edith Wharton and Cynthia Asquith will have you shivering with fear as you listen.

scary audiobooksThe House by Simon Lelic

When Jack and Syd moved into their new house, it seemed like their dream home – so when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, they chose to ignore it. That was a mistake. Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door. And now the police are watching them.

If you like your psychological thrillers tense and intriguing, then this is wonderfully creepy story is for you. Told from two perspectives, it’s the characters that really shine here – and the two narrators do a stellar job of capturing their personalities in their performances.

Have you listened to any creepy or scary audiobooks recently? Let us know in the comments below!

mm

The home of killer books, drama and film.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your comment. By posting a comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.

The home of killer crime books, drama and film.